Trevor Lawrence named semifinalist for top QB award

Trevor Lawrence named semifinalist for top QB award

by -

Clemson freshman QB Trevor Lawrence was named among the semifinalists for the 2018 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award on Wednesday.

Lawrence, who rates 11th nationally in passer rating (163.04) with an ACC-leading 18 touchdowns to 3 interceptions, did not make the preseason watch list for the award, which featured former Tigers QB Kelly Bryant.

Lawrence has averaged 8.2 yards per attempt this season, ranking second in the ACC, with a 65.4 completion rate.

The semifinalists, in alphabetical order, are: Ian Book (Notre Dame), Mason Fine (North Texas), Ryan Finley (NC State), Jake Fromm (Georgia), Will Grier (West Virginia), Dwayne Haskins (Ohio State), Justin Herbert (Oregon), D’Eriq King (Houston), Trevor Lawrence (Clemson), Jordan Love (Utah State), Marcus McMaryion (Fresno State), McKenzie Milton (UCF), Gardner Minshew (Washington State), Kyler Murray (Oklahoma), Shea Patterson (Michigan) and Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama).

Just two of the quarterbacks, Grier and Milton, have previously been named semifinalists. Both received the honor in 2017. Five universities represented—Clemson, Houston, Ohio State, Oklahoma and Oregon—are home to previous Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winners, with the Tigers' Deshaun Watson a winner in 2015 and 2016.

The collection of semifinalists is comprised of four seniors, seven juniors, four sophomores and one freshman. Schools from eight conference affiliations (ACC, American, Big Ten, Big 12, Conference USA, Mountain West, Pac-12 and SEC) and one FBS Independent make up the list. No league had more than two semifinalists.

The quarterbacks’ 16 teams own a combined record of 124-17 (.879) this season. In addition, 13 of their schools are currently ranked in the Top 25 of the most recent AP poll.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the best college quarterback, and is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.

The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Foundation’s national selection committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners.

After clearing the first round totals, the Fan Vote at will reopen today (Nov. 7) and remain open until noon (CT) on Sunday, Nov. 18, for the second round of balloting. Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback once daily per email address.

In conjunction with ESPN, the Davey O’Brien Foundation and its National Selection Committee will release the names of the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 19. The 2018 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards Thursday, Dec. 6.

Previous winners include: Jim McMahon (BYU, 1981), Todd Blackledge (Penn State, 1982), Steve Young (BYU, 1983), Doug Flutie (Boston College, 1984), Chuck Long (Iowa, 1985), Vinny Testaverde (Miami, 1986), Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1987), Troy Aikman (UCLA, 1988), Andre Ware (Houston, 1989), Ty Detmer (BYU, 1990-91), Gino Torretta (Miami, 1992), Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), Kerry Collins (Penn State, 1994), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1995-96), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Michael Bishop (Kansas State, 1998), Joe Hamilton (Georgia Tech, 1999), Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000), Eric Crouch (Nebraska, 2001), Brad Banks (Iowa, 2002), Jason White (Oklahoma, 2003-04), Vince Young (Texas, 2005), Troy Smith (Ohio State, 2006), Tim Tebow (Florida, 2007), Sam Bradford (Oklahoma, 2008), Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Cam Newton (Auburn, 2010), Robert Griffin III (Baylor, 2011), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M, 2012), Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014), Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2015-16) and Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, 2017).

The 42nd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 18, 2019, at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2018 Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalists

Ian Book, Notre Dame, Jr., 6-0, 203, El Dorado Hills, Calif.

Mason Fine, North Texas, Jr., 5-11, 185, Peggs, Okla.

Ryan Finley, NC State, Sr., 6-4, 212, Phoenix. Ariz.

Jake Fromm, Georgia, So., 6-2, 220, Warner Robins, Ga.

Will Grier, West Virginia, Sr., 6-2, 223, Charlotte, N.C.

Dwayne Haskins, Ohio State, So., 6-3, 220, Potomac, Md.

Justin Herbert, Oregon, Jr., 6-6, 233, Eugene, Ore.

D’Eriq King, Houston, Jr., 5-11, 195, Manvel, Texas

Trevor Lawrence, Clemson, Fr., 6-6, 215, Cartersville, Ga.

Jordan Love, Utah State, So., 6-4, 225, Bakersfield, Calif.

Marcus McMaryion, Fresno State, Sr., 6-2, 203, Dinuba, Calif.

McKenzie Milton, UCF, Jr., 5-11, 185, Kapolei, Hawaii

Gardner Minshew, Washington State, Sr., 6-2, 220, Brandon, Miss.

Kyler Murray, Oklahoma, Jr., 5-10, 195, Allen, Texas

Shea Patterson, Michigan, Jr., 6-4, 205, Shreveport, La.

Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama, So., 6-1, 218, Ewa Beach, Hawaii

Ultimate Level LogoUpgrade Your Account

Unlock premium boards and exclusive features (e.g. ad-free) by upgrading your account today.

Upgrade Now
Comment on this story
Send Feedback to TigerNet Staff: Email | Comment
Former Clemson RB re-enters transfer portal
Former Clemson RB re-enters transfer portal
Two Tiger defenders make Top 100 players in college football ranking
Two Tiger defenders make Top 100 players in college football ranking
Updated ESPN NFL mock draft has two Tigers going in early rounds
Updated ESPN NFL mock draft has two Tigers going in early rounds
No. 4 Clemson hosts 49ers
No. 4 Clemson hosts 49ers
Post your comments!