Dabo Swinney wins CFB Coach of the Year award

Dabo Swinney wins CFB Coach of the Year award

by -

CLEMSON, S.C. — The Touchdown Club of Columbus announced today that Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney has earned the Woody Hayes Award, presented annually to the College Football Coach of the Year.

Clemson has posted a 13-0 record this season, one win shy of the team record for wins set in 2015 and 2016. Yesterday, Swinney’s Tigers won their fourth consecutive ACC championship, earning a 42-10 win against Pittsburgh in the ACC Championship Game in Charlotte. Clemson became the first school in conference history to win four consecutive outright titles and became the first Power Five program to win four straight conference championship games since Florida in 1993-96.

Swinney becomes the second Clemson head coach to earn the honor since the award’s inception in 1977. Danny Ford was Clemson’s first Woody Hayes Award winner, collecting the honor following Clemson’s 12-0 national championship season in 1981.

The 2018 Woody Hayes Award will be presented during the 64th Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards on Saturday, Feb. 9 in Columbus, Ohio. A full list of all-time winners of the Woody Hayes Award is included below:

2018: DABO SWINNEY, Clemson


2016: JAMES FRANKLIN, Penn State

2015: KIRK FERENTZ, Iowa


2013: GUS MALZAHN, Auburn

2012: URBAN MEYER, Ohio State

2011: BILL SNYDER, Kansas State

2010: JIM HARBAUGH, Stanford


2008: MIKE LEACH, Texas Tech

2007: MARK MANGINO, Kansas

2006: JIM TRESSEL, Ohio State

2005: JOE PATERNO, Penn State

2004: URBAN MEYER, Utah

2003: BOB STOOPS, Oklahoma

2002: JIM TRESSEL, Ohio State

2001: RALPH FRIEDGEN, Maryland

2000: BOB STOOPS, Oklahoma

1999: FRANK BEAMER, Virginia Tech

1998: PHIL FULMER, Tennessee

1997: LLOYD CARR, Michigan

1996: BRUCE SNYDER, Arizona State

1995: GARY BARNETT, Northwestern

1994: TOM OSBORNE, Nebraska

1993: DON NEHLAN, West Virginia


1991: DON JAMES, Washington

1989: BOBB ROSS, Georgia Tech

1988: LOU HOTLZ, Notre Dame

1987: DICK MacPHERSON, Syracuse

1986: JOE PATERNO, Penn State

1985: BO SCHEMBECHLER, Michigan

1984: DON JAMES, Washington

1983: TOM OSBORNE, Nebraska

1982: JOE PATERNO, Penn State

1981: DANNY FORD, Clemson

1980: VINCE DOOLEY, Georgia

1979: EARLE BRUCE, Ohio State

1978: JOE PATERNO, Penn State

1977: LOU HOLTZ, Arkansas

Comment on this story
ESPN NFL draft projection swaps Tigers in first round
ESPN NFL draft projection swaps Tigers in first round
Valerie Cagle named ACC Pitcher of the Week
Valerie Cagle named ACC Pitcher of the Week
Spring shopping deals for Clemson fans
Spring shopping deals for Clemson fans
WATCH: Hunter Tyson highlights
WATCH: Hunter Tyson highlights
Post your comments!

Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest