(USA TODAY Sports-Brian Fluharty)
(USA TODAY Sports-Brian Fluharty)

Clemson ranked No. 2 in new Coaches Poll

by - Staff Writer -

The top-11 of the Coaches Poll all put another ‘W’ in the win column to make things easy on the voters this week.

No. 1 Alabama grinded out a 24-0 win over No. 15 Mississippi State and No. 2 Clemson did the same at Boston College, 27-7. No. 3 Notre Dame continued Florida State’s misery with a 42-13 home win and No. 4 Michigan pummeled Rutgers, 42-7.

CFP contenders on the outside-looking in had closer games, with No. 5 Georgia pulling away from Auburn, 27-10, and No. 6 Oklahoma holding on by defending a late two-point conversion try to a 48-47 win over Oklahoma State.

Syracuse moved up to No. 12 ahead of their meeting with Notre Dame in New Jersey this week. BC hung on to the No. 22 spot in the poll to round out the ACC.

The top-three of Clemson (95), Alabama (86) and Notre Dame (77) are all given at least a 75 percent chance to make the Playoff.

The next Playoff rankings, which were identical in the top-6 to the Coaches and AP rankings last week, will come on Tuesday at 7 p.m. (ESPN).

USA TODAY Coaches Poll - 11/11


1 Alabama 10-0 (64 first-place votes)

2 Clemson 10-0 (1)

3 Notre Dame 10-0

4 Michigan 9-1

5 Georgia 9-1

6 Oklahoma 9-1

7 West Virginia 8-1

8 Ohio State 9-1

9 Washington State 9-1

10 Louisiana State 8-2

11 Central Florida 9-0

12 Syracuse 8-2

13 Utah State 9-1

14 Texas 7-3

15 Penn State 7-3

16 Florida 7-3

17 Washington 7-3

18 Iowa State 6-3

19 Utah 7-3

20 Cincinnati 9-1

21 Kentucky 7-3

22 Boston College 7-3

23 Mississippi State 6-4

24 Boise State 8-2

25 UAB 9-1

Schools Dropped Out

No. 17 Fresno State, No. 22 NC State.

Others Receiving Votes

Northwestern 87; Fresno State 64; Army 58; Buffalo 56; Virginia 44; Duke 38; NC State 37; Pittsburgh 30; Texas A&M 29; Michigan State 20; Auburn 19; Troy 17; Appalachian State 14; Missouri 13; San Diego State 10; Wisconsin 7; Arizona State 2; Tennessee 1.

List of Voters

The Amway Board of Coaches is made up of 65 head coaches at Bowl Subdivision schools. All are members of the American Football Coaches Association. The board for the 2018 season: Blake Anderson, Arkansas State; Major Applewhite, Houston; Dino Babers, Syracuse; Mike Bloomgren, Rice; John Bonamego, Central Michigan; Terry Bowden, Akron; Jeff Brohm, Purdue; Neal Brown, Troy; Troy Calhoun, Air Force; Rod Carey, Northern Illinois; Bill Clark, Alabama-Birmingham; Dave Clawson, Wake Forest; Geoff Collins, Temple; David Cutcliffe, Duke; Mark Dantonio, Michigan State; Bob Davie, New Mexico; Butch Davis, Florida International; Dana Dimel, Texas-El Paso; Herm Edwards, Arizona State; Luke Fickell, Cincinnati; Jimbo Fisher, Texas A&M; Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern; P.J. Fleck, Minnesota; James Franklin, Penn State; Willie Fritz, Tulane; Scott Frost, Nebraska; Justin Fuente, Virginia Tech; Turner Gill, Liberty; Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State; Bryan Harsin, Boise State; Clay Helton, Southern California; Tom Herman, Texas; Dana Holgorsen, West Virginia; Mike Jinks, Bowling Green; Kliff Kingsbury, Texas Tech; Brad Lambert, Charlotte; Mike Leach, Washington State; Lance Leipold, Buffalo; Tim Lester, Western Michigan; Seth Littrell, North Texas; Rocky Long, San Diego State; Chad Lunsford, Georgia Southern; Mike MacIntyre, Colorado; Gus Malzahn, Auburn; Doug Martin, New Mexico State; Urban Meyer, Ohio State; Jeff Monken, Army; Dan Mullen, Florida; Pat Narduzzi, Pittsburgh; Ken Niumatalolo, Navy; Jay Norvell, Nevada; Barry Odom, Missouri; Ed Orgeron, LSU; Gary Patterson, TCU; Chris Petersen, Washington; Bobby Petrino, Louisville; Nick Saban, Alabama; Scott Satterfield, Appalachian State; Kirby Smart, Georgia; Rick Stockstill, Middle Tennessee; Charlie Strong, South Florida; Dabo Swinney, Clemson; Jeff Tedford, Fresno State; Kyle Whittingham, Utah; Everett Withers, Texas State.

Upgrade Your Account

Unlock premium boards and exclusive features (e.g. ad-free) by upgrading your account today.

Upgrade Now
Comment on this story
Send Feedback to Brandon Rink: Email | Comment
Tigers defeat Demon Deacons
Tigers defeat Demon Deacons
Ruke Orhorhoro shines under the NFL combine spotlight
Ruke Orhorhoro shines under the NFL combine spotlight
ACC announces conference men's basketball matchups next season
ACC announces conference men's basketball matchups next season
PHOTO GALLERY: Clemson Opens 2024 Spring Practice
PHOTO GALLERY: Clemson Opens 2024 Spring Practice
Post your comments!