Tucker Israel finishes 2nd place in Mr. Football

by -
Recruiting Home Search Recruits Recruiting Board 2024 Top Targets
Tucker Israel Photo
Tucker Israel - Quarterback
TigerNet: (3.27)

Height: 6-0   Weight: 195   Hometown: Orlando, FL (Lake Nona HS)   Class: 2015

GAINESVILLE (December 15) – Senior quarterback De’Andre Johnson of First Coast High School in Jacksonville has been named the 2014 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Football following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school football coaches and media representatives.

Johnson, who was previously selected as the Class 8A Player of the Year, completed 215-of-328 passes for 3,710 yards and 47 touchdowns, the latter mark breaking 2005 Mr. Football Tim Tebow’s single-season area record. Johnson was intercepted only nine times and rushed for 398 yards and nine TDs in helping the 12-1 Buccaneers reach the regional final, where in his final game, he threw a school-record seven TD passes in a loss to eventual state champion Apopka. As a four-year starter, Johnson, a Florida State verbal commitment and early enrollee, compiled a 46-5 record with 11,697 career passing yards and 131 TDs while adding 23 career rushing TDs.

Johnson topped the voting among our eight finalists, all Players of the Year in their respective classes, with 181 points to win the overall award in a very close race over Class 7A POY and Clemson commit Tucker Israel Tucker Israel
6-0, 195
Orlando, FL

View Full Profile
of Orlando Lake Nona (172) and Class 6A POY Byron Cowart of Seffner Armwood (163). Rounding out this year’s voting were Class 5A POY and Ohio State commit Torrance Gibson Torrance Gibson
6-4, 200
Plantation, FL

View Full Profile
from Plantation American Heritage (116), Class 4A POY and Alabama commit Ronnie Harrison of Florida High (102), Class 2A POY Caleb Lewis from Lakeland Victory Christian and Class 3A POY Brandon Ziarno of Melbourne Central Catholic (tie, 98 each), and Class 1A POY Jarkeice Davis of Port St. Joe (96).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers' commitment to the state's youth. This marks the 23rd year of these unique awards as we honor the state's top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2014 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis)

Player Total Points 1st-place Votes

De’Andre Johnson 181 8

Tucker Israel 172 6

Byron Cowart 163 4

Torrance Gibson 116 3

Ronnie Harrison 102 2

Caleb Lewis (tie) 98 3

Brandon Ziarno 98 1

Jarkeice Davis 96 1

Past Mr. Football Winners:

1992 - Jammi German, Ft. Myers

1993 - Shevin Wiggins, Manatee

1994 - Daunte Culpepper, Ocala Vanguard

1995 - Frankie Franklin, Jacksonville Sandalwood

1996 - Travis Henry, Frostproof

1997 - Zain Gilmore, Tampa Robinson

1998 - Anquan Boldin, Pahokee

1999 - Willie Green, Kissimmee Osceola

2000 - Adrian McPherson, Southeast

2001 - Leon Washington, Jacksonville Jackson

2002 - Andre Reese, Pierson Taylor

2003 - Xavier Lee, Daytona Seabreeze

2004 - Antone Smith, Pahokee

2005 – Tim Tebow, Ponte Vedra Nease

2006 – Robert Marve, Tampa Plant

2007 – Jacory Harris, Miami Northwestern

2008 – A.J. Graham, Tallahassee Godby

2009 – Matt Elam, William T. Dwyer

2010 – Quentin Williams, Tampa Jefferson

2011 – Randy “Duke” Johnson, Miami Norland

2012 – Derrick Henry, Yulee High School

2013 – Dalvin Cook, Miami Booker T. Washington

Upgrade Your Account

Unlock premium boards and exclusive features (e.g. ad-free) by upgrading your account today.

Upgrade Now
Daily Digest
Comment on this story
Advanced Outlook: Clemson-Wake Forest projections
Advanced Outlook: Clemson-Wake Forest projections
Tigers rally to roll over Eagles
Tigers rally to roll over Eagles
Dabo Swinney ranks second in salary for USA TODAY coaches database
Dabo Swinney ranks second in salary for USA TODAY coaches database
Clemson Pro signed to NFL active roster
Clemson Pro signed to NFL active roster
Last Name
Post your comments!