Two Clemson players named to All-America team


by -
Two Clemson players named to All-America team

DALLAS – Eighteen ACC baseball players have been named to the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Preseason All-America Teams, announced Tuesday by the organization.

The ACC’s 18 NCBWA Preseason All-Americans is the most from any conference, ahead of the SEC’s 11 and the Big 12’s seven representatives.

Seven ACC players were named to the first team, led by Clemson’s Seth Beer, the 2016 ACC Player of the Year and the winner of the Dick Howser Trophy. Joining Beer on the first team are teammate Pat Krall, Florida State’s Dylan Busby and Taylor Walls, Louisville’s Brendan McKay and Kade McClure, and North Carolina’s J.B. Bukauskas.

Led by Florida State’s four players recognized, eight different ACC programs had at least one player included on the NCBWA Preseason All-America Teams. Louisville and Miami had three players included, while Clemson, Georgia Tech, and North Carolina had multiple players selected. Virginia and Wake Forest each had one player garner accolades from the NCWBA.

2017 NCBWA Preseason All-America Teams
First Team
1B - Dylan Busby, Jr., Florida State
SS - Taylor Walls, Jr., Florida State
OF - Seth Beer, So., Clemson
UT - Brendan McKay, Jr., Louisville
SP - J.B. Bukauskas, Jr., North Carolina
SP - Kade McClure, Jr., Louisville
RP - Pat Krall, Sr., Clemson

Second Team
SS - Devin Hairston, Jr., Louisville
OF - Kel Johnson, Jr., Georgia Tech
OF - Brian Miller, Jr., North Carolina

Third Team
C - Cal Raleigh, So., Florida State
2B - Ernie Clement, Jr., Virginia
SS - Johnny Ruiz, Sr., Miami
3B - Trevor Craport, Jr., Georgia Tech
OF - Jackson Lueck, So., Florida State
SP - Parker Dunshee, Sr., Wake Forest
SP - Jesse Lepore, Jr., Miami
SP - Michael Mediavilla, Jr., Miami

Comment on this story
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest