Swinney, Fuller to compete in 2017 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge

by -
 Swinney, Fuller to compete in 
2017 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge

Greensboro, Ga. (April 18, 2017) – Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney and former quarterback Steve Fuller will represent the Tigers in the 11th annual Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament. The duo will compete for a share of a $630,000 total purse, and the team’s winnings will be split between an endowed scholarship at Clemson University and Dabo’s All In Team Foundation.

Dabo’s All In Team Foundation aims to raise awareness of critical education and health issues in order to change lives of people across the state of South Carolina, concentrating on Breast Cancer Research, The Phoenix Center, The Rise Program, Call Me Mister Program, and grants based on need and fit within the foundation’s mission statement and focus areas.

The nation’s premier head coach and celebrity golf event will be held April 30 to May 3 at Reynolds Lake Oconee outside of Atlanta. Proceeds from the event benefit endowed scholarships at the participating universities and charitable foundations selected by the coaches. Since its creation in 2007, the event has contributed a total of $6 million in scholarship and charity, helping make the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl college football’s most charitable bowl game.

The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge main event features pairings that include a university head coach and a former athlete from the same school competing in a scramble format against other university teams from around the country. The event will be broadcast on ESPN in August and December. Specific dates will be announced this summer.

The field of competitors is scheduled to include two former winning teams including last year’s winning duo of Hugh Freeze and Wesley Walls of Ole Miss, as well as the four-time winning pair of Paul Johnson and Jon Barry of Georgia Tech (2011, 2012, 2014, 2015). The field includes two Heisman Trophy winners, six Dodd Trophy winners, and four new teams including Baylor, Florida and TCU. Representing the first-ever College Football Playoff (CFP) team will be former coaches and current CFP Selection Committee members Frank Beamer and Bobby Johnson.

The current field of competitors for the featured event is projected to include:

Comment on this story
4-star DB decommits from Clemson
4-star DB decommits from Clemson
VOTE: Fan survey on Clemson football and COVID-19 impact
VOTE: Fan survey on Clemson football and COVID-19 impact
4-star CB picks up Clemson offer
4-star CB picks up Clemson offer
Post your comments!
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest