ACC Announces 2004 Football Schedule


by -
    |

GREENSBORO, N.C. -- The 2004 Atlantic Coast Conference football schedule released today by Commissioner John D. Swofford is comprised of 78 games, including 44 conference match-ups, over a span of 15 weeks.


One of the ACC’s two new members, Virginia Tech, will bring the curtain up on the 2004 gridiron campaign when it travels to Washington, D.C., to take on Southern California in the eighth annual Black Coaches Association Football Classic on Thursday, August 28, with a 7:45 p.m. (EDT) kickoff. ESPN will televise the game nationally.


League play will get underway the following week with seven games slated for Saturday, September 4, including Wake Forest visiting Clemson in the first conference game of the season. Two days later, defending conference champion Florida State will host rival Miami in a Monday night game that will kickoff at 8:00 p.m. (EDT) and be nationally televised by ABC.


Twelve of the league's 44 non-conference games are against teams who earned bowl berths in 2003 including defending Associated Press national champion Southern California, fourth-ranked Ohio State, No. 7 Georgia and No. 24 Florida. Other non-conference opponents who earned bowl bids in 2003 include Boston College, Houston, Louisville, Navy, Utah and West Virginia.


Saturday, August 28

Virginia Tech vs. USC (Washington, DC)



Saturday, September 4

Wake Forest at Clemson

Duke at Navy

Samford at Georgia Tech

Northern Illinois at Maryland

William and Mary at North Carolina

Richmond at NC State

Virginia at Temple



Monday, September 6

Florida State at Miami



Saturday, September 11

Georgia Tech at Clemson

Duke at Connecticut

Temple at Maryland

North Carolina at Virginia

Western Michigan at Virginia Tech

Wake Forest at East Carolina



Thursday, September 16

Louisville at Miami



Saturday, September 18

Clemson at Texas A&M

Duke at Virginia Tech

Alabama-Birmingham at Florida State

Georgia Tech at North Carolina

Maryland at West Virginia

Ohio State at NC State

Akron at Virginia

Air Force at Wake Forest



Thursday, September 23

Miami at Houston



Saturday, September 25

Clemson at Florida State

Maryland at Duke

Louisville at North Carolina

NC State at Virginia Tech

Syracuse at Virginia

Boston College at Wake Forest



Saturday, October 2

The Citadel at Duke

North Carolina at Florida State

Miami at Georgia Tech

Wake Forest at NC State

West Virginia at Virginia Tech



Thursday, October 7

Clemson at Virginia



Saturday, October 9

Florida State at Syracuse

Georgia Tech at Maryland

NC State at North Carolina

Virginia Tech at Wake Forest



Saturday, October 16

Utah State at Clemson

Duke at Georgia Tech

Virginia at Florida State

NC State at Maryland

North Carolina at Utah

Florida A&M at Virginia Tech

Louisiana Tech at Miami



Saturday, October 23

Maryland at Clemson

Virginia at Duke

Florida State at Wake Forest

Miami at NC State



Thursday, October 28

Virginia Tech at Georgia Tech



Saturday, October 30

NC State at Clemson

Duke at Wake Forest

Florida State at Maryland

Miami at North Carolina



Saturday, November 6

Clemson at Miami

Duke at Florida State

Georgia Tech at NC State

Maryland at Virginia

Virginia Tech at North Carolina



Thursday, November 11

Florida State at NC State



Saturday, November 13

Clemson at Duke

Connecticut at Georgia Tech

Miami at Virginia

North Carolina at Wake Forest



Thursday, November 18

Maryland at Virginia Tech



Saturday, November 20

South Carolina at Clemson

North Carolina at Duke

Florida at Florida State

Virginia at Georgia Tech

Wake Forest at Miami



Saturday, November 27

Georgia Tech at Georgia

Wake Forest at Maryland

NC State vs. East Carolina (Charlotte)

Virginia at Virginia Tech



Saturday, December 4

Virginia Tech at Miami

Rate this Story:
17 votes

    |
Loading...

Analyst says Watson 'magic' gives Texans shot at Patriots

Clemson vs. Boston College Prediction

Alabama OT commit: "I love Clemson"

Friday Email Bag

Clemson releases recap video on win over Louisville

WATCH: Clemson still 'most complete team' after losing kicker

Sammy Watkins leaves game with head injury

Clemson offers nation's No. 1 2019 center

Focus shouldn’t be a problem against Boston College
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Features
Updates
Daily Digest