Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
My entire life
Tiger Boards - The Amphitheatre
add New Topic
Topics: Previous | Next
Replies: 12
| visibility 1,001

My entire life

Apr 10, 2024, 9:39 AM

I was a drummer. from the time I was about 5 until just two years ago. Before 5 I was always tapping and beating on things.

2 years ago I kept remembering what an old interim pastor at my childhood church would say. He'd say "people tell me all the time that they wished they could play the piano." And he said he would always reply with "no you don't, if you really wanted to, you would" Old pastors name was Herb Garrett.

Anyways those words prompted me to buy a home digital piano. And I started a journey.

I had a leg up because I'd spent my entire life practicing my timing with the drums and my ear is honestly what made me a good drummer. I could just hear where things were supposed to be.

That translated well for me to piano but over the last year I've really gotten into the theory and truly learning the craft.

Now I usually spend 2-3 hours a night playing after we get all the kids settled down. Thanks to online communities and forums I've been able to accelerate my learning pace and can play piano with other musicians at a proficient level the same as I could the drums.

I say that to hopefully encourage others, not to boast about my own abilities. My goal is to hopefully encourage someone else to realize that we have all the resources we need at our fingertips to accomplish anything we want in this life. So stop wasting time. Just start that thing you've always wanted to do. Just start, and commit time each day.