There was a fair amount of discussion of this yesterday and it seems like no one really has a handle on the current rule - myself included. So I’ve spent some time doing homework. I don’t mind admitting when I’m wrong and focus on getting facts
In 2003 the NCAA did away with the original 2 yard “halo” rule. The rule was changed so that interpretation of interference was entirely subjective and this became very lenient on the defense. Returners “must be given an unimpeded opportunity to catch the punt.”
In 2013 the NCAA added this language to Section 4 of the Rules: “b. It is an interference foul if, before the receiver touches the ball, a Team A player enters the area defined by the width of the receiver’s shoulders and extending one yard in front of him. When in question it is a foul.(A.R. 6-4-1-X-XIII)”. This is the first appearance of the one-yard rule since the change in 2003. I find no references to it in any articles. I’ve found articles about the 2013 rule changes with no reference to this change. There are also no subsections to this i.e. caveats. The rule exists in this form through the current manual.
Here is where things get fun. In the NCAA rule 6 interpretations: “X. Punt receiver B44 is standing at his 30-yard line in position to catch the kick. Defender A11 races down the field to cover the punt and reaches a point about a foot directly in front of B44 as the ball descends. B44 makes the catch without having to adjust his position or manner of catching the ball because of the presence of A11, who does not pull back to give B44 more room. RULING: Foul for kick-catch interference. A11 entered the one-yard area directly in front of receiver B44. 15-yard penalty”. A cut and dry interpretation of the rule above but curiously includes caveats regarding “does not pull back” - a distinction that does not exist in the actual rule as written. “Entering the area, when in question, is a foul”
But then
“XIII. B44 is in position to catch a punt at the B-25. While the ball is still very high in the air and well before it comes close to B44, A88 runs directly in front of B44 within a yard but is not near him when the ball arrives. B44 catches the punt and is tackled. RULING: No foul. Although A88 penetrates the one-yard region directly in front of the receiver, this is so early in the action that there is no interference with B44’s opportunity to catch the kick.”
So, since 2013 the NCAA is providing conflicting guidance on its own rules. Not particularly surprising - just that it has lasted this long on such an important point in each game. But it appears it truly is completely up to each individual crew to call it however they feel like.
btw - our player absolutely backpedaled after the fair catch signal.
Re: It looked like our guy was straddling his legs
Oct 1, 2023, 2:58 PM
Did not see the contact but only saw the one relay from the broadcast. That would make it automatic. More curious how few people seemed to understand the current state of the rule. Many believe the “halo” is still in effect - it’s not. Many, myself included, thought there was no distance rule - only that the catch can’t be impeded because that’s what replaced the halo. The reality is even more confusing.