Replies: 18
| visibility 2
|
Paw Warrior [4947]
TigerPulse: 100%
37
|
Rule Question - If PAT is blocked or intercepted and
Jul 15, 2012, 3:39 PM
|
|
returned for a TD but the runner "showboats" before the goal line and a flag is thrown. What is the call? It's suppose to be 15 from spot but then whose ball is it?
|
|
|
 |
110%er [4041]
TigerPulse: 100%
35
|
Re: Rule Question - If PAT is blocked or intercepted and
Jul 15, 2012, 3:42 PM
|
|
Good question, but I would say that no points (for the PAT only) and we move on to the kickoff.
|
|
|
|
 |
All-TigerNet [5928]
TigerPulse: 100%
39
|
Re: Rule Question - If PAT is blocked or intercepted and
Jul 15, 2012, 3:44 PM
|
|
It is not a TD - it is 2 points.
My GUESS, the try is no good.
|
|
|
|
 |
110%er [3672]
TigerPulse: 100%
35
|
Would be the same as if he was tackled
Jul 15, 2012, 3:49 PM
|
|
If the returner was tackled at any point before crossing the line the attempt is no good. Thus if there is a penalty on the return the attempt would be no good. The interesting question is would the penalty then be marked off on the ensuing kick-off.
|
|
|
|
 |
CU Medallion [20899]
TigerPulse: 100%
52
Posts: 14665
Joined: 2009
|
Wouldn't a penalty against the defense on the play not
Jul 15, 2012, 3:57 PM
|
|
result in a 2nd PAT attempt for the scoring team?
|
|
|
|
 |
110%er [4041]
TigerPulse: 100%
35
|
Re: Wouldn't a penalty against the defense on the play not
Jul 15, 2012, 4:03 PM
|
|
I doubt it because the penalty would occur AFTER the change of position. Same thing applies if there is a penalty AFTER an interception on a return. The INT stands, but the penalty is marked off.
|
|
|
|
 |
110%er [3672]
TigerPulse: 100%
35
|
Great minds and all that stuff :-). *****
Jul 15, 2012, 4:06 PM
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
110%er [3672]
TigerPulse: 100%
35
|
Interesting thought but
Jul 15, 2012, 4:06 PM
[ in reply to Wouldn't a penalty against the defense on the play not ] |
|
After a change of possession I don't think so - for the same reason if the def showboated on an interception return the ball wouldn't go back to the offense.
|
|
|
|
 |
Top TigerNet [31673]
TigerPulse: 100%
55
Posts: 37020
Joined: 2000
|
Nope
Jul 15, 2012, 5:01 PM
[ in reply to Wouldn't a penalty against the defense on the play not ] |
|
The penalty in effect stops the play immediately at the point the penalty is committed. So the play, up to that point, is 'counted' and play moves on to the Kickoff.
The 15 yard penalty is not moved over to the kickoff.
|
|
|
|
 |
CU Medallion [20899]
TigerPulse: 100%
52
Posts: 14665
Joined: 2009
|
All of the above sounds correct. No points. Play over. Go
Jul 15, 2012, 5:07 PM
|
|
to kickoff.
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Blooded [4787]
TigerPulse: 100%
37
|
Re: All of the above sounds correct. No points. Play over. Go
Jul 15, 2012, 5:26 PM
|
|
ok, that makes sense, so what are they really gonna do?jk
|
|
|
|
 |
CU Guru [1554]
TigerPulse: 100%
30
|
Re: All of the above sounds correct. No points. Play over. Go
Jul 15, 2012, 9:55 PM
|
|
Cherry would mark it off 15 and give the other team a PAT!
|
|
|
|
 |
Ultimate Tiger [36178]
TigerPulse: 100%
56
|
Reminds me of Furman v App State in '02; Napier threw the
Jul 15, 2012, 4:10 PM
|
|
interception on the 2 point conversion when they went up 1 point with 7 seconds left, but lost by 1. Looks like the guy showboated a little; wonder if they would have called it now.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rUcQ4irFl_s
|
|
|
|
 |
Varsity [107]
TigerPulse: 92%
11
|
why did Napier throw that ball??! wow***
Jul 15, 2012, 6:08 PM
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Tiger Titan [49905]
TigerPulse: 100%
58
Posts: 30364
Joined: 1998
|
|
|
|
 |
Letterman [254]
TigerPulse: 90%
14
|
Re: I think this video explains it pretty well...
Jul 15, 2012, 7:13 PM
|
|
I love that!!!
|
|
|
|
 |
110%er [8244]
TigerPulse: 100%
43
|
Re: Rule Question - If PAT is blocked or intercepted and
Jul 15, 2012, 6:37 PM
|
|
Hope we are never the team kicking if that happens,,and would not want to be the player who gets flagged and have to come to the sidelines and be greeted by Dabo
|
|
|
|
 |
110%er [3810]
TigerPulse: 100%
35
|
It depends on...
Jul 15, 2012, 7:52 PM
|
|
if Clemson is playing and if Ron Cherry is the ref.
If both are true, then if Clemson was showboating the call would be no points, half the distance to the goal for the other team, and replay the conversion attempt.
If the other team was showboating, the flag would be waived off, they would be awarded 2 points, and 15 yards would be accessed against Clemson for unsportsmanlike conduct when Dabo blows a gasket.
|
|
|
|
 |
Paw Warrior [4947]
TigerPulse: 100%
37
|
That's Funny.***
Jul 15, 2012, 8:06 PM
|
|
|
|
|
|
Replies: 18
| visibility 2
|
|
|