Replies: 21
| visibility 78
|
Game Day Hero [4140]
TigerPulse: 100%
36
|
Can a goaltending call be called on an air ball?
Mar 19, 2015, 5:27 PM
|
|
WOW SMU got hosed
|
|
|
 |
All-In [30593]
TigerPulse: 99%
55
Posts: 28685
Joined: 2005
|
by rule if it is going to hit the rim then it's goaltending
Mar 19, 2015, 5:27 PM
|
|
even if it's was going to graze it...
makes it a judgement call
|
|
|
|
 |
Game Day Hero [4140]
TigerPulse: 100%
36
|
Ok didn't know the rule
Mar 19, 2015, 5:28 PM
|
|
+1
|
|
|
|
 |
All-In [30593]
TigerPulse: 99%
55
Posts: 28685
Joined: 2005
|
nonetheless... a gutsy call to make in that situation...
Mar 19, 2015, 5:30 PM
|
|
and you can't go to the monitor on a goaltending call
|
|
|
|
 |
110%er [8015]
TigerPulse: 100%
42
|
Classic NCAA. Don't allow a review in a critical moment.***
Mar 19, 2015, 5:51 PM
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
All-In [30593]
TigerPulse: 99%
55
Posts: 28685
Joined: 2005
|
what do you mean?
Mar 19, 2015, 5:53 PM
|
|
change the rules at that moment?
should it be reviewable? probably...
but you have to make the change in the offseason, not at the table
|
|
|
|
 |
110%er [8015]
TigerPulse: 100%
42
|
It just seems like common sense that goaltending
Mar 19, 2015, 5:55 PM
|
|
would be a reviewable call.
Obviously I don't mean they should go and change the rules in the middle of the game. But it's just another situation where an NCAA rule that goes against common sense hurts a team.
|
|
|
|
 |
1st Rounder [646]
TigerPulse: 100%
21
|
At least give the coach a challenge on the call.***
Mar 19, 2015, 6:16 PM
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
All-In [10900]
TigerPulse: 100%
45
|
|
|
|
 |
1st Rounder [646]
TigerPulse: 100%
21
|
Re: nonetheless... a gutsy call to make in that situation...
Mar 19, 2015, 6:14 PM
[ in reply to nonetheless... a gutsy call to make in that situation... ] |
|
It is a gutsy call considering in most games the last 10 seconds they do not call fouls because they want "players to decide the game" but in this case they make a "technically" (at best) right call
|
|
|
|
 |
Standout [248]
TigerPulse: 100%
13
|
that's not the rule
Mar 19, 2015, 7:32 PM
[ in reply to by rule if it is going to hit the rim then it's goaltending ] |
|
Rule 9/ Violations and Penalties Section 17. Basket Interference and Goaltending Art. 3. Goaltending. a. Goaltending occurs when a defensive player touches the ball during a fieldgoal try and each of the following conditions is met: (Exceptions: Rule 10-4.1.i) 1. The ball is on its downward flight; and 2. The ball is above the level of the ring and has the possibility, while in flight, of entering the basket and is not touching the cylinder. b. It is goaltending to touch the ball outside the cylinder during a free throw, regardless of whether the free throw is on its upward or downward flight. c. When the ball contacts the backboard and any part of the ball is above the rim during a field goal attempt, it is considered to be on its downward flight. In such a case, it is goaltending when the ball is touched by a player as long as it has a possibility of entering the basket.
Maybe some refs think that if the ball is going to hit the rim then it has a chance of going in, but that's not what the rule says.
|
|
|
|
 |
All-In [30593]
TigerPulse: 99%
55
Posts: 28685
Joined: 2005
|
haha.... in the cylinder means ANY part of the ball
Mar 19, 2015, 7:46 PM
|
|
even a fraction...
and a chance of hitting the rim is "in the cylinder"
|
|
|
|
 |
Standout [248]
TigerPulse: 100%
13
|
still not goaltending, but you're mostly right
Mar 19, 2015, 8:20 PM
|
|
you're talking about basket interference. Different rule, but essentially the same thing. If ball is touched while any part of the ball is in the cylinder, it's basket interference (doesn't matter if it's going to hit rim or not)
|
|
|
|
 |
CU Medallion [19353]
TigerPulse: 92%
52
Posts: 22266
Joined: 2004
|
Re: Can a goaltending call be called on an air ball?
Mar 19, 2015, 5:29 PM
|
|
The goal tend was the right call...
I had SMU picked so the gripe I have is the massive shove in the back before the goal tend that was "missed".
|
|
|
|
 |
Walk-On [139]
TigerPulse: 82%
11
|
Re: Can a goaltending call be called on an air ball?
Mar 19, 2015, 5:35 PM
|
|
The guy was standing on the right side of the rim, just look at where he is where he lands.Ball was a airball close to a foot away.Horrible call,the advantage of being a legacy team...and I had UCLA winning this one
|
|
|
|
 |
Top TigerNet [31652]
TigerPulse: 100%
55
Posts: 37008
Joined: 2000
|
Now, don't be crazy
Mar 19, 2015, 5:37 PM
|
|
It wasn't "Close to a foot" away. It looked like it was gonna be darn close to hitting the rim, and at that point it became a judgment call by the ref.
|
|
|
|
 |
All-In [30593]
TigerPulse: 99%
55
Posts: 28685
Joined: 2005
|
i disagree... would it have been an airball? maybe. but
Mar 19, 2015, 5:37 PM
[ in reply to Re: Can a goaltending call be called on an air ball? ] |
|
by rule if it is going to even graze the rim, it is goaltending..
the guy from SMU put it in the officials hands to make a judgement call... It's not his fault, it was a hustle play that didn't go their way
|
|
|
|
 |
Rival Killer [2632]
TigerPulse: 90%
33
|
Absolutely not
Mar 19, 2015, 6:07 PM
|
|
Or NC State and Valvano wouldn't have won the title, IF Olajuwan had contended the air ball that Charles stuffed in. In other words, that ball is free for either the offense to re-direct it in the hoop but the defender has the equal right to bat it away! (as Olajuwan didn't)
|
|
|
|
 |
All-In [30593]
TigerPulse: 99%
55
Posts: 28685
Joined: 2005
|
it's a judgement call... and the judgement is
Mar 19, 2015, 6:11 PM
|
|
was the ball going to graze the rim...
and it had to me made in a split second... no review
|
|
|
|
 |
Walk-On [139]
TigerPulse: 82%
11
|
Re: it's a judgement call... and the judgement is
Mar 19, 2015, 6:20 PM
|
|
I don't get all the "was it going to it the rim" stuff. The ball was already pasted the front part of the rim.The dude was on the other side of the rim.The ball had zero chance of going in. The ref at the top of the key should of seen this, not the one on the baseline
|
|
|
|
 |
All-In [30593]
TigerPulse: 99%
55
Posts: 28685
Joined: 2005
|
I don't have a problem with arguing that the ref at the top
Mar 19, 2015, 6:22 PM
|
|
should have overturned it...
but the guy that made the call was at an angle where you thought it was going to hit it, period.
If it was a bad call, the ref behind the shooter should have conferenced and corrected it.
|
|
|
|
 |
CU Guru [1116]
TigerPulse: 99%
26
|
Re: I don't have a problem with arguing that the ref at the top
Mar 19, 2015, 7:19 PM
|
|
You can't touch the ball if it's close to the basket per the head of officials on CBS .
|
|
|
|
Replies: 21
| visibility 78
|
|
|