Replies: 31
| visibility 51
|
Orange Immortal [62877]
TigerPulse: 100%
60
Posts: 62901
Joined: 2007
|
Can anybody explain how was the off side kick was legal
Jan 12, 2016, 1:05 AM
|
|
in this game, when we done the same thing against the coots, and it wasn't legal. Is it only legal when an sec team or Bama does it. I think that it was Peake that caught it....
|
|
|
 |
CU Guru [1016]
TigerPulse: 96%
25
|
Re: Can anybody explain how was the off side kick was legal
Jan 12, 2016, 1:07 AM
|
|
If I remember correctly we didn't kick it off the ground like Bama did tonight.
|
|
|
|
 |
110%er [5249]
TigerPulse: 100%
38
|
It didn't bounce off the ground***
Jan 12, 2016, 1:08 AM
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Rival Killer [3022]
TigerPulse: 100%
33
|
|
|
|
 |
110%er [7182]
TigerPulse: 100%
42
|
Re: Can anybody explain how was the off side kick was legal
Jan 12, 2016, 1:07 AM
|
|
It went 10 yards, they caught it, & weren't off sides on the kick. Done.
|
|
|
|
 |
Paw Master [17217]
TigerPulse: 97%
51
Posts: 19143
Joined: 2002
|
And there was no chance for us to catch it...hence illegal.***
Jan 12, 2016, 1:09 AM
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Mascot [20]
TigerPulse: 100%
3
|
Re: And there was no chance for us to catch it...hence illegal.***
Jan 12, 2016, 1:13 AM
|
|
NCAA rulebook article 6 section a. What Bama did was against this rule. It should have been a dead ball at the spot the Alabama player touched it and belong to Clemson. The 10 yard rule for onside kicks applies ONCE the ball BOUNCES at least once. We got screwed.
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Beast [6333]
TigerPulse: 100%
40
|
wrong..
Jan 12, 2016, 2:13 AM
|
|
article 6 has or in the rules
Touching and Recovery of a Free Kick ARTICLE 3. a. No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after: 1. It touches a Team B player (Exception: Rules 6-1-4 and 6-5-1-b); 2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line (Exception: Rule 6-4-1) (A.R. 2-12-5-I); OR 3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s restraining line. Thereafter, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or catch the kick.
and
Eligibility to Block ARTICLE 12 No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball. (A.R. 6-1-3-II)
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Blooded [2436]
TigerPulse: 93%
32
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Beast [6333]
TigerPulse: 100%
40
|
wrong,,,
Jan 12, 2016, 1:41 AM
[ in reply to And there was no chance for us to catch it...hence illegal.*** ] |
|
the ball does not have to hit the ground. As long as the ball goes 10 yds and the kicking team does not block anyone before it goes 10 yds and teh receiving team does not call a fair catch.....the ball is up for grabs.
|
|
|
|
 |
Paw Warrior [4812]
TigerPulse: 100%
37
|
|
|
|
 |
All-TigerNet [14090]
TigerPulse: 78%
48
Posts: 25447
Joined: 2005
|
|
|
|
 |
Game Day Hero [4369]
TigerPulse: 100%
36
|
Re: Can anybody explain how was the off side kick was legal
Jan 12, 2016, 1:09 AM
|
|
The SC receiver called for a fair catch. We caught the ball without giving him a chance to fair catch it.
|
|
|
|
 |
Paw Master [17217]
TigerPulse: 97%
51
Posts: 19143
Joined: 2002
|
No he didn't. He just reached to catch it. Did not signal a
Jan 12, 2016, 1:10 AM
|
|
Fair catch. Watch it again. His arm was not above his head.
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Elite [5455]
TigerPulse: 44%
38
Posts: 17691
Joined: 2005
|
Re: No he didn't. He just reached to catch it. Did not signal a
Jan 12, 2016, 1:11 AM
|
|
You don't have to call for a fair catch. You can't just run into a punt returner who doesn't call for a fair catch.
|
|
|
|
 |
Tiger Spirit [9659]
TigerPulse: 100%
44
|
You also can't lose to The Citadel go 3-9
Jan 12, 2016, 1:19 AM
|
|
and talk smack on your rivals board...
|
|
|
|
 |
All-In [30593]
TigerPulse: 99%
55
Posts: 28685
Joined: 2005
|
|
|
|
 |
Clemson Icon [24775]
TigerPulse: 100%
54
Posts: 33033
Joined: 1998
|
You can't interfere with the receiving teams's opportunity
Jan 12, 2016, 1:10 AM
|
|
to catch the ball. We did against the Gamecocks. Alabama did not. It was a great call. We got out coached there.
|
|
|
|
 |
All-TigerNet [14090]
TigerPulse: 78%
48
Posts: 25447
Joined: 2005
|
they were offsides also, and the ball has to touch the ground first***
Jan 12, 2016, 1:16 AM
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Clemson Icon [24775]
TigerPulse: 100%
54
Posts: 33033
Joined: 1998
|
thought they were too. Several reviewable calls this game
Jan 12, 2016, 1:19 AM
|
|
that didn't get reviewed. Very poorly officiated game.
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Beast [6333]
TigerPulse: 100%
40
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Elite [5455]
TigerPulse: 44%
38
Posts: 17691
Joined: 2005
|
Re: Can anybody explain how was the off side kick was legal
Jan 12, 2016, 1:10 AM
|
|
We had a player in position to catch the ball and you guys didn't.
It's essentially kick catch interference.
|
|
|
|
 |
Rival Killer [3022]
TigerPulse: 100%
33
|
Ball has to touch the ground before kicking team can recover***
Jan 12, 2016, 1:20 AM
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
All-TigerNet [5866]
TigerPulse: 100%
39
|
|
|
|
 |
Rival Killer [2946]
TigerPulse: 100%
33
|
He's talking about in the Clemson-USC game, not last night***
Jan 12, 2016, 7:47 AM
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Beast [6333]
TigerPulse: 100%
40
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Elite [5455]
TigerPulse: 44%
38
Posts: 17691
Joined: 2005
|
Re: that is incorrect...
Jan 12, 2016, 1:43 AM
|
|
It doesn't work that way.
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Beast [6333]
TigerPulse: 100%
40
|
yes it does...
Jan 12, 2016, 2:37 AM
|
|
if a fair catch is called and the player is moving towards the ball, the opposing player can not interfere. Our player did not call fair catch so the other guy had rights to the ball.
If a fair catch is called on the onside kick, it is automatically the receiving team's ball,,,which is what the coots did last yr
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Elite [5455]
TigerPulse: 44%
38
Posts: 17691
Joined: 2005
|
Re: yes it does...
Jan 12, 2016, 7:38 AM
|
|
lol no it doesn't.
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Blooded [4378]
TigerPulse: 96%
36
|
Re: yes it does...
Jan 12, 2016, 7:57 AM
[ in reply to yes it does... ] |
|
For once this coot is right. It is the exact same thing as kick catch interference. It does not matter if they call for a fair or not, you can't just run into the guy receiving the kick, as we did last year against the coots. Now if the ball hit the ground first, you don't have to give the receiver a right to catch the ball. If it's in the air, you do.
This year, we had nobody anywhere close to the ball, so there was no chance for them to interfere with one of our guys making a catch. You can't call for a fair catch 10 yards away from the ball.
|
|
|
|
 |
Associate AD [840]
TigerPulse: 83%
23
|
Re: Can anybody explain how was the off side kick was legal
Jan 12, 2016, 1:43 AM
|
|
the officials in the coot game called it right, but explained it wrong. the alabama kick tonight was legal...however, had one of our players thought to call for a fair catch, before the alabama player caught the ball in the air, without it first touching, the ground, it would have been a penalty and we would have gotten possession of the ball at the spot of the foul
|
|
|
|
 |
Clemson Sports Icon [52983]
TigerPulse: 100%
59
Posts: 33541
Joined: 2015
|
Re: Can anybody explain how was the off side kick was legal
Jan 12, 2016, 7:53 AM
|
|
It's called a pooch kick. Once the ball goes 10 yards it is live. If any player touches the ball before 10 the ball is dead and it can be called illegal touching. After 10 it is fair game. However like the announcers said, they can not advance it.
|
|
|
|
Replies: 31
| visibility 51
|
|
|