Replies: 10
| visibility 1851
|
Ultimate Tiger [35283]
TigerPulse: 100%
56
|
Question about the kickoff after Renfrow's 3rd Qtr TD
Jan 2, 2016, 5:49 PM
|
|
The Oklahoma returner fielded the kickoff at the goal line with his foot clearly on it and maybe his toe over. Then he started to take off, dropped the ball and it rolled into the end zone where he grabbed it and kneeled down. Was this not a touch back? What are the rules on this? No one questioned it.
https://youtu.be/b9eHkGJaV7E?t=8249
|
|
|
 |
Clemson Icon [27759]
TigerPulse: 100%
54
Posts: 32033
Joined: 2003
|
Re: Question about the kickoff after Renfrow's 3rd Qtr TD
Jan 2, 2016, 5:53 PM
|
|
Was it not ruled a touchback? Okla got the ball at the twenty five I believe
|
|
|
|
 |
Walk-On [139]
TigerPulse: 99%
11
|
He could have been on the 5 yd line and it wouldn't have mattered
Jan 2, 2016, 5:53 PM
|
|
If you fumble it into the end zone on the kickoff you can kneel it for a touchback. Many players don't know this and get flustered and try to run it out.
|
|
|
|
 |
Ultimate Tiger [35283]
TigerPulse: 100%
56
|
Thanx, didn't know that. btw, i meant safety***
Jan 2, 2016, 5:56 PM
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Blooded [3456]
TigerPulse: 79%
34
|
Not true
Jan 2, 2016, 5:58 PM
[ in reply to He could have been on the 5 yd line and it wouldn't have mattered ] |
|
A fumble indicates control of the ball. If it's fumbled into the end zone it's going to be either a safety or a touchdown. If the ball's impetus brings in into the end zone after the kick then that can be a touchback but it's not a fumble.
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Blooded [2638]
TigerPulse: 100%
33
|
It was a touchback.
Jan 2, 2016, 5:53 PM
|
|
When the momentum of the ball itself carries it into the end zone, then it is a touch back. If the player fumbles it into or causes it to go into the end zone, then it is a live ball and possible safety.
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Blooded [3456]
TigerPulse: 79%
34
|
Re: Question about the kickoff after Renfrow's 3rd Qtr TD
Jan 2, 2016, 5:56 PM
|
|
If the ball went into the end zone under its own impetus then it's a touchback. If he clearly controlled the ball with his foot over the line (on the green part of the field), then dropped it, it's a fumble. If he then took a knee in the end zone, it's a safety.
This question reminds me of a Clemson / Georgia game back around 2003 where a Georgia player intercepted a pass while running parallel to the goal line (just over it). He stepped left (into the zone) and took a knee. The refs ruled it a touchback but it was clearly a safety. It was never brought up or discussed on tv.
|
|
|
|
 |
MVP [509]
TigerPulse: 98%
19
|
I think you are asking if it should have been a saftey
Jan 2, 2016, 5:56 PM
|
|
I believe the rule is it is based on where the player has possession of the ball, not where he touches it. So the touchback was correct.
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Blooded [2180]
TigerPulse: 100%
32
|
Re: Question about the kickoff after Renfrow's 3rd Qtr TD
Jan 2, 2016, 6:01 PM
|
|
You're correct. Check the 2:17 mark on the video. His foot was definitely on the line when he first touched the ball. I don't know all the rules of football, so I don't know if that matters or not.
|
|
|
|
 |
Ultimate Tiger [35283]
TigerPulse: 100%
56
|
So apparently it doesn't matter that he touched the ball in
Jan 2, 2016, 6:04 PM
|
|
the field of play, but that he never controlled it. That's obviously different than punt returns.
|
|
|
|
 |
Valley Legend [12838]
TigerPulse: 100%
47
Posts: 10441
Joined: 2006
|
l think you can actually field it and if your momentum
Jan 2, 2016, 7:11 PM
|
|
carries you into the end zone you can still down it for a touch back.
|
|
|
|
Replies: 10
| visibility 1851
|
|
|