Replies: 14
| visibility 1
|
Playmaker [355]
TigerPulse: 82%
16
|
If the ball touches pylon it's a td.
Sep 30, 2012, 10:38 AM
|
|
When foot touches its out of bounds.
|
|
|
 |
Athletic Dir [864]
TigerPulse: 93%
23
|
Doesn't seem right***
Sep 30, 2012, 10:39 AM
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
110%er [4018]
TigerPulse: 100%
35
|
Re: If the ball touches pylon it's a td.
Sep 30, 2012, 10:39 AM
|
|
Then why is it NOT a penalty for going out of bounds and then being the first player to touch a passed ball?
|
|
|
|
 |
CU Guru [1895]
TigerPulse: 74%
31
|
You can't call a penalty on a review
Sep 30, 2012, 10:40 AM
|
|
and an incomplete pass and illegal touching have the same result. Loss of down.
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Immortal [65813]
TigerPulse: 100%
60
Posts: 49357
Joined: 2000
|
Ahhhh that's it. Technically, it should have been a penalty
Sep 30, 2012, 11:01 AM
|
|
against Clemson, as Nuk went out of bounds then was the first player to touch the ball, but the refs missed it. Then, they couldn't call it after seeing the replay. And yes, the result would have been the same either way.
|
|
|
|
 |
Asst Coach [702]
TigerPulse: 99%
22
|
It just befuddles me how a guy can jump from inbounds and
Sep 30, 2012, 10:49 AM
|
|
then land inbounds and still be called out of bounds.
|
|
|
|
 |
CU Medallion [18213]
TigerPulse: 100%
52
Posts: 22450
Joined: 1999
|
Didn't you have the "electricity" rule when you played Tag
Sep 30, 2012, 10:53 AM
|
|
as a kid?
|
|
|
|
 |
Playmaker [355]
TigerPulse: 82%
16
|
It doesn't seem right***
Sep 30, 2012, 10:57 AM
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Asst Coach [702]
TigerPulse: 99%
22
|
Now with instant replay,why do we even need those dumb
Sep 30, 2012, 10:59 AM
|
|
looking pylons anyway.Get rid of them darned things.
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Immortal [65813]
TigerPulse: 100%
60
Posts: 49357
Joined: 2000
|
The pylon is out of bounds. If the ball crosses the plane of
Sep 30, 2012, 11:05 AM
|
|
the goal line before or simultaneously to the player going out of bounds, it's a TD. Nuk went out of bounds, then caught the ball. But a player with the ball can certainly cross the plane of the goal line before or at the same time as touching the pylon.
|
|
|
|
 |
Asst Coach [702]
TigerPulse: 99%
22
|
Not sure i saw Nuk "go out of bounds"until after he made the
Sep 30, 2012, 11:13 AM
|
|
reception.
|
|
|
|
 |
Top TigerNet [31636]
TigerPulse: 100%
55
Posts: 36998
Joined: 2000
|
His back foot hit the pylon prior to possession
Sep 30, 2012, 11:16 AM
|
|
And certainly prior to him getting his foot down in bounds after possession.
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Immortal [65813]
TigerPulse: 100%
60
Posts: 49357
Joined: 2000
|
Then it should have been a penalty.***
Sep 30, 2012, 11:17 AM
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Top TigerNet [31636]
TigerPulse: 100%
55
Posts: 36998
Joined: 2000
|
It is no different
Sep 30, 2012, 11:26 AM
|
|
Then a receiver trying to get his feet down and having his leading foot land out of bounds before his back foot drags in bounds.
FR-74 RULE 7 / SNAPPING AND PASSING THE BALL Incomplete Pass ARTICLE 7. a. Any forward pass is incomplete if the ball is out of bounds by rule or if it touches the ground when not firmly controlled by a player. It also is incomplete when a player leaves his feet and receives the pass but first lands on or outside a boundary line, unless his progress has been stopped in the field of play or end zone (Rule 4-1-3-p) (A.R. 2-4-3-III and A.R. 7-3-7-I).
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Immortal [65813]
TigerPulse: 100%
60
Posts: 49357
Joined: 2000
|
Did he receive the pass THEN land out of bounds (as it
Sep 30, 2012, 11:55 AM
|
|
applies in the rule you are citing), or did he go out of bounds while not in possession (hit the pylon), THEN touch a live ball before it was touched by an opponent or official. There is a difference, as the first is an incomplete pass, the latter is a penalty.
|
|
|
|
Replies: 14
| visibility 1
|
|
|