Tye Hill Named Jim Thorpe Award Semifinalist

by -
This marks the second consecutive year a Clemson cornerback has reached the final 12 of the Thorpe List.

CLEMSON -- Clemson cornerback Tye Hill is among 12 semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award. The list was announced on Tuesday. Hill has three interceptions, eight passes defensed and 47 tackles so far this season. He has five tackles for loss among the 47 tackles.

This marks the second consecutive year a Clemson cornerback has reached the final 12 of the Thorpe List. Justin Miller, now with the New York Jets, was named to the final 12 last yaer.

This list will be narrowed on November 21, 2005, to three finalists. The winner will be announced on ESPN's College Football Awards Show, telecast llive from Disney World in Orlando, Florida, on December 8, 2005.

The Jim Thorpe Association first presented the award in 1986 to Thomas Everett of Baylor. The 1989 winner, Marc Carrier of USC, will present the Thorpe trophy on this year's ESPN show. The official presentation of the award will be at a banquet in Oklahoma City on February 7, 2006. Winners are selected for performance on the field, athletic ability and character. Last year's winner was Auburn University standout Carlos Rogers, who is now playing for the Washington Redskins.

The 2005 semi-finalists are:

Darnell Bing, Jr, USC

Greg Blue, Sr, Georgia

Darrel Brooks, Sr, Arizona

Dion Byrum, Sr, Ohio

Charles Gordon, Jr, Kansas

Roman Harper, Sr, Alabama

Michael Huff, Sr, Texas

Tye Hill, Sr, Clemson

LaRon Landry, Jr, LSU

Brandon Merriweather, Jr, Miami (FL)

Jimmy Williams, Sr, Virginia Tech

Alan Zemaitis, Sr, Penn State

Rate this Story:
7 votes


Report: Clemson adds future non-conference foes

New rankings set up No. 1 battle for Lawrence, Fields

Photo Gallery: Fall Camp Final Day

Kirk Herbstreit: Clemson has never been hotter, but this season will be a challenge

4-star athlete picks up Clemson offer

Former Tiger called up for Wednesday start

Deon Cain: Clemson's next great wide receiver?

CFB rule changes for 2017 season

Kelly Bryant on being named starting quarterback: "It's an honor"
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest