Replies: 9
| visibility 2753
|
Paw Master [17229]
TigerPulse: 100%
51
Posts: 17043
Joined: 2004
|
What is the current Halo rule for catching a punt?
Dec 7, 2016, 2:36 PM
|
|
Artavis Scott was flagged for kick catch interference on a punt. He was about a foot away from the receiver when he caught the punt. How much distance is required?
|
|
|
 |
Ultimate Clemson Legend [105933]
TigerPulse: 100%
64
Posts: 44238
Joined: 2008
|
I don't know what it is but since the dude didn't
Dec 7, 2016, 2:39 PM
|
|
call a fair catch I have to believe the hit was legal. Ref screwed that one up.
|
|
|
|
 |
Clemson Icon [27258]
TigerPulse: 100%
54
Posts: 10283
Joined: 2015
|
Re: What is the current Halo rule for catching a punt?
Dec 7, 2016, 2:40 PM
|
|
I thought that flag was because their punt returner had signaled a fair catch? However, watching him field punts subsequently, that guy BARELY raised his hand/arm to shoulder height and it was a really quick motion. Didn't seem like a 'legitimate fair catch signal' to me....
|
|
|
|
 |
All-In [38514]
TigerPulse: 100%
56
Posts: 47161
Joined: 2002
|
There's not. Just have to allow time to secure catch.
Dec 7, 2016, 2:41 PM
|
|
It was a bad call but hard to make a judgement on in real time.
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Phenom [14935]
TigerPulse: 100%
49
Posts: 12319
Joined: 2006
|
Seems like you shouldn't be able to flag it if they PR
Dec 7, 2016, 2:51 PM
|
|
actually makes the catch. Then by definition you allowed them to field the punt.
|
|
|
|
 |
All-In [38514]
TigerPulse: 100%
56
Posts: 47161
Joined: 2002
|
I agree.***
Dec 7, 2016, 3:24 PM
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
TigerNet Elite [70161]
TigerPulse: 100%
61
Posts: 90946
Joined: 2001
|
It used to be two yards....
Dec 7, 2016, 2:42 PM
|
|
but the NCAA Football Rules Committee eliminated the 2-yard ''halo'' rule on punt returns in 2003 I believe.
The new rule simply states that returners must be given an "unimpeded opportunity" to catch the punt, and when you dealing with incompetent ACC officiating, that's entirely too much latitude.
The hit on Scott was not a penalty IMO.
|
|
|
|
 |
Top TigerNet [31687]
TigerPulse: 100%
55
Posts: 37028
Joined: 2000
|
There is no set distance
Dec 7, 2016, 2:47 PM
|
|
In practice the call is never really made unless the defender hits the returner prior to him touching the ball, or it's bang-bang and the returner drops the ball.
I can't say I've seen it called much if the returner catches the ball, gets hit, and hangs on to it.
|
|
|
|
 |
Asst Coach [891]
TigerPulse: 92%
23
|
Re: There is no set distance
Dec 7, 2016, 4:56 PM
|
|
SECTION 4. Opportunity To Catch a Kick Interference With Opportunity ARTICLE 1 a A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to catch the kick (AR 6-3-1-III, AR 6-4-1-V, VI and IX) b It is an interference foul if, before the receiver touches the ball, a Team A player enters the area defined by the width of the receiver’s shoulders and extending one yard in front of him When in question it is a foul(AR 6-4-1-X-XIII)
This is straight from the rule book. Scott was comin from dead in front of him. According to the rules he was required to give him 1 yard before he caught the ball. He was 1 foot away when the guy caught the ball. It was actually a good call by the official according to the rules.
|
|
|
|
 |
All-In [27366]
TigerPulse: 100%
54
Posts: 26231
Joined: 2011
|
It's a very complicated rule and depends primarily
Dec 7, 2016, 4:46 PM
|
|
(on which team the ref likes).
|
|
|
|
Replies: 9
| visibility 2753
|
|
|