Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
50
Big Brain
90
Love it!
100
Cheers
100
Helpful
100
Made Me Smile
100
Great Idea!
150
Mind Blown
150
Caring
200
Flammable
200
Hear ye, hear ye
200
Bravo
250
Nom Nom Nom
250
Take My Coins
500
Ooo, Shiny!
700
Treasured Post!
1000

YOUR BALANCE
Thats a gooood one.
Tiger Boards - Clemson Baseball
add New Topic
Replies: 7
| visibility 1253

Thats a gooood one.

5

Apr 14, 2024, 6:20 PM
Reply

Have to watch the ball at all times.

https://x.com/gr3champs/status/1779264338106462706

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: Thats a gooood one.

1
2

Apr 14, 2024, 7:41 PM
Reply

Was the pitcher on the rubber? If so, should have been a balk.

military_donation.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: Thats a gooood one.

1
3

Apr 14, 2024, 8:38 PM
Reply

Correct. That was a balk.

The rule is slightly different depending on the level (high school, college, pros). But in no level can the pitcher toe the rubber or even straddle the rubber without the ball. Obviously, the umpires did not know the rule, which is not surprising considering some of the umpires I’ve encountered.

2024 orange level member flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: Thats a gooood one.

2

Apr 14, 2024, 8:46 PM
Reply

The pitcher has the ball the whole time. It was a faked throw to second.

2024 orange level member flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: Thats a gooood one.

1

Apr 14, 2024, 9:01 PM
Reply

I rewatched it. You’re right. The announcer called it a hidden ball trick, and that’s what I was going by. That’s not a hidden ball trick. That’s poor base running.

2024 orange level member flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: Thats a gooood one.


Apr 14, 2024, 9:46 PM [ in reply to Re: Thats a gooood one. ]
Reply

You can fake a throw to 2nd base and it's not a Balk. The pitcher had the ball. He's the player who tagged out the runner. Pay attention

military_donation.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: Thats a gooood one.


Apr 14, 2024, 10:58 PM
Reply

Right. The question was did the pitcher have the ball when he faked.

The announcer said he didn’t, calling it a hidden ball trick, which would have been a balk because a pitcher cannot go to the rubber without the ball. However, in this case the pitcher had the ball the whole time. The announcer was wrong. It was not the hidden ball trick and therefore was a perfectly legal fake to second base.

2024 orange level member flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: Thats a gooood one.


Apr 15, 2024, 4:10 AM
Reply

He had the ball the entire time

2024 white level member flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Replies: 7
| visibility 1253
Tiger Boards - Clemson Baseball
add New Topic