All-In [27451]
TigerPulse: 100%
Posts: 35468
Joined: 8/28/00
|
|
|
 |
Orange Blooded [4728]
TigerPulse: 100%
Posts: 6827
Joined: 10/12/06
|
Re: Did we already talk about the Charlotte Richmond game?
Mar 15, 2013, 10:29 AM
|
|
|
Sometimes I agree that refs should let players play at the end of the game but players can't be stupid and expect the refs to let it slide. The player brought it on himself with the push and you can't blame someone else when you make a mistake.
|
|
|
|
 |
All-In [27451]
TigerPulse: 100%
Posts: 35468
Joined: 8/28/00
|
Agree on that
Mar 15, 2013, 10:30 AM
|
|
|
The Charlotte player played it perfectly, he suckered the defender into pushing him, but once the arms are extended the ref can't not call it. And if it's called it's a T since it's a dead ball scenario.
|
|
|
|
 |
Ring of Honor [30584]
TigerPulse: 99%
Posts: 28685
Joined: 8/17/05
|
I see both sides of this....
Mar 15, 2013, 10:37 AM
|
|
|
obviously a push... but I think the official has to account for game situation a little there too. Do you really want to give a tech in that situation?
Consider the Charlotte player was on the outside, and originally had a headlock on the Richmond player. That said, the Richmond guy has to have more control.
Later, there is NO EXCUSE for giving Charlotte 3 FTs.. NONE.
|
|
|
|
 |
All-In [27451]
TigerPulse: 100%
Posts: 35468
Joined: 8/28/00
|
The 3 FT's was a bad call in my opinion
Mar 15, 2013, 10:41 AM
|
|
|
But the coach really put the nail in the coffin with is reaction.
|
|
|
|
 |
Ring of Honor [30584]
TigerPulse: 99%
Posts: 28685
Joined: 8/17/05
|
hard to blame him though.... after the "T" and then the
Mar 15, 2013, 10:44 AM
|
|
|
3 FTs
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Blooded [4728]
TigerPulse: 100%
Posts: 6827
Joined: 10/12/06
|
Re: I see both sides of this....
Mar 15, 2013, 10:47 AM
|
|
|
As much as I hate to see a call determine a game a part of me thinks it is crazy to suggest a call shouldn't be made because of the situation. It is the refs job to call a fair game both ways. Just because one team committed the foul early and the other team waited until the end you can't call one foul and not the other. It is the players job to know the situation of the game and not cost their team a win not the refs job.
|
|
|
|
 |
All-TigerNet [10824]
TigerPulse: 100%
Posts: 9046
Joined: 2/22/00
|
All I know
Mar 15, 2013, 10:54 AM
|
|
|
is Clemson would have missed all of thosr foul shots
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Blooded [3573]
TigerPulse: 100%
Posts: 6516
Joined: 6/1/99
|
How is that an automatic technical?
Mar 15, 2013, 11:30 AM
|
|
|
The reason they stated was that the free throw was made so the play was dead.
Well, if that is the case, wouldn't any foul committed on an inbounds play after a made basket also be a technical foul? The shot was made and the clock hasn't started.
|
|
|
|
 |
110%er [5830]
TigerPulse: 100%
Posts: 8503
Joined: 11/30/98
|
Re: How is that an automatic technical?
Mar 15, 2013, 11:34 AM
|
|
|
Yes. It should be.
|
|
|
|
 |
Orange Blooded [3384]
TigerPulse: 91%
Posts: 6674
Joined: 10/3/09
|
Re: Did we already talk about the Charlotte Richmond game?
Mar 15, 2013, 11:43 AM
|
|
|
For what it's worth, the Over/Under in Vegas was 130.5. Total points scored: 131.
Justtt sayin.
|
|
|
|
 |
Scout Team [187]
TigerPulse: 100%
Posts: 96
Joined: 8/26/00
|
Let them play at end of game
[1]
Mar 15, 2013, 11:43 AM
|
|
|
I really hate when the refs "swallow their whistle" in the last few seconds of the game and don't call it the same way they called the rest of the game. A foul is a foul whether it happens at the 19:59 mark or the 0:01.2 mark on the clock. I applaud the refs in the Charlotte game for calling it as the rules are written. Doesn't matter that there were less than 5 seconds left.
|
|
|
|
|
|