Lawson named finalist for another National Award

by -

Clemson, S.C.—Clemson defensive end Shaq Lawson has been named one of six finalists for the Ted Hendricks Award. The honor is presented each year to the top defensive end in college football by the Ted Hendricks Foundation. Hendricks was a Hall of Fame defensive end with the University of Miami and in the NFL with the Baltimore Colts and Oakland Raiders.

The six finalists include Lawson, DeForest Buckner of Oregon, Shilique Calhoun of Michigan State, Myles Garrett of Texas A&M, Carl Nassib of Penn State and Emmanul Ogbah of Oklahoma State. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, December 9.

Lawson has been a key to No. 1 Clemson’s 13-0 record and ACC Championship. The junior leads the nation in tackles for loss with 22.5, nine of which have been quarterback sacks. He has 79 tackles overall. He had six tackles, including two tackles for loss and a caused fumble in Clemson’s 45-37 win over North Carolina this past Saturday, a victory that gave Clemson the ACC Championship and a No. 1 ranking entering the bowl and playoff season.

Lawson is also a finalist for the Nagurski Award (which will be presented this evening) and the Lombardi Award (which will be presented Wednesday evening).

Post your comments!

Steve Spurrier says Clemson should be ranked No. 1 ahead of Alabama

Clemson DE out for the season

Former Clemson OL Hairston out for season

Rudolph out for the season, Swinney looks for freshmen to step up

Clemson offers 2018 Auburn WR commit

WATCH: Swinney talks injuries, more after Wednesday practice

Venables says Saturday sets up to be a bloody nose kind of day

Photos: Clemson vs. Louisville - 2

Herbstreit: 'Frightening' defense has Clemson as Playoff favorite
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest