Swinney runner-up in ACC Coach of Year

by -

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney finished second in ACC Coach of the Year voting behind Georgia Tech’s Paul Johnson in balloting
conducted by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. Swinney had 10 votes while Johnson, the third man in the league’s history to win Coach of the Year
honors in his first two seasons, had 24 votes.

Virginia Tech’s Frank Beamer (2004-05) and Charlie Pell of Clemson (1977-78) are the
only people named Coach of the Year in each of their first two ACC seasons. Other repeat winners of the
award are Duke’s Steve Spurrier (1988-89), George Welsh of Virginia (1983-84) and Jerry Claiborne of
Maryland (1975-76).

Clemson will play Georgia Tech on Saturday for the ACC Championship Saturday night at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa. The contest will be shown on ESPN at 8:00 PM.

Coach of the Year

Coach 		School 	        Votes
Paul Johnson 	Georgia Tech 	24
Dabo Swinney 	Clemson 	10
David Cutcliffe Duke 		4
Frank Spaziani 	Boston College 	2

Also announced by the ACC on Tuesday, Clemson redshirt freshman quarterback Kyle Parker was Offensive Rookie of the Year runner-up to Virginia Tech's running back Ryan Williams.

Off. Rookie of the Year

Player   	School 		Votes 
Ryan Williams 	Virginia Tech 	34 
Kyle Parker	Clemson 	4 
Conner Vernon 	Duke 		2	

Rate this Story:
9 votes


ACC announces conference matchups for 2017-2018 basketball season

Photo Gallery II: Tigers visit White House as national champions

Streeter breaks down QB battle, says Johnson is as athletic as Watson

Clemson in Top 10 of Lindy's Preseason CFB rankings

Clemson fundraising tops record $150 million

Clemson Football ranked No. 1 on Twitter

Two more Tigers named to Preseason Watch Lists

Opponents' Top Receivers

Tavien Feaster: He's bigger, he's stronger and his confidence is back
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest