Clemson Sons Bowl Will Precede Spring Game

by -

CLEMSON - Clemson will hold its first Clemson Sons Bowl at Clemson Memorial Stadium on Saturday, April 12 at 11:00 AM. The flag football game that will involve former Clemson players, will precede the Clemson Spring Football Game.

At the conclusion of the Clemson Sons Bowl, players will be available for autographs and photos in the West Endzone concourse.

Forty former Tigers who played over the last 25 years have committed to play in the event. Other former Tiger greats will serve as coaches. The coaching staff for the White team will be Jeff Bostic, Homer Jordan and Michael Dean Perry. Bostic was an All-ACC center for the Tigers who went on to win three Super Bowl Championships with the Washington Redskins. Jordan quarterbacked Clemson to the National Championship in 1981 and Perry was an All-American and ACC Player of the Year in 1987, then went on to play in six Pro Bowls as a professional.

The coaching staff for the Orange team will be Danny Ford, Brian Dawkins and Charlie Whitehurst. Ford coached Clemson to the 1981 National Championship and five ACC championships between 1979-89. Dawkins was an All-American at Clemson in 1995 and has been named to six Pro Bowls in his NFL career, tying Perry?s record for a former Clemson player. Whitehurst set 46 Clemson records between 2002-05 and led the Tigers to 25 victories, second most in school history. He is in his third year with the San Diego Chargers.

The White team will be led by Woody Dantzler, who was a first-team All-ACC quarterback in 2001 when he became the first player in Division I history to pass for at least 2000 yards and rush for at least 1000 yards in the same season. Other prominent former players for the white team will be former All-ACC and Academic All-America linebacker Chad Carson and former starting defensive linemen Carlos Curry.

The Orange team has five former NFL players on its 20-man roster. That list includes three-time first-team All-ACC linebacker Levon Kirkland, a recent inductee into the South Carolina Hall of Fame, and Rod Gardner, a first-round draft choice in 2001 who was an All-American in 2000. Other former NFL players on the Orange team include James Trapp, a 10-year veteran and a Super Bowl Champion with the Baltimore Ravens, Tony Horne, who led the NFL in kickoff returns in 2000 and played on a Super Bowl Championship team with the Rams, and Patrick Sapp, a quarterback and defensive end at Clemson who played four years at outside linebacker in the NFL, will also compete for the Orange team.

White Team Numerical Roster
	No	Name	Pos	Years	Hometown
	1	Woody Dantzler	QB	1998-01	Orangeburg, SC
	1	Randy Anderson	QB	1984-87	Spartanburg, SC
	1	Donnie Jewell	PK	1991-93	Concord, NC
	10	Michael Allen	DB	1995-98	Conway, SC
	11	Tribble Reese	QB	2005-07	Mountain Brook, AL
	12	Jeff Scott	WR	2000-02	Columbia, SC
	21	Henry Guess	WR	1992-95	Cordova, SC
	31	David Dunham	LB	2002-05	Lake City, FL
	32	Mitch Belton	CB	1988-90	Columbia, SC
	33	Tony DeSue	RB	1993-96	Virginia Beach, VA
	34	Mike Samnik	TE	1988-91	Clearwater, FL
	35	Tony Kennedy	FB	1988-91	Elizabeth, NJ
	37	Kevin Laird	P	1995-98	Brandon, MS
	42	Altroy Bodrick	LB	1998-02	Cameron, SC
	46	Chad Carson	LB	1998-01	Newnan, GA
	49	Jamie Pleasant	DB	1987-90	Sumter, SC
	56	Jason Fendley	OL	1990-93	Westminster, SC
	78	Alex Dial	OL	1990-92	Columbia, SC
	81	Jason Davis	WR	1990-93	Pensacola, FL
	93	Carlos Curry	DL	1992-95	Decatur, GA
	Coaching Staff:  Jeff Bostic, Homer Jordan, Michael Dean Perry

Orange Team Numerical Roster
	No	Name	Pos	Years	Hometown
	1	Chad Jasmin	FB	2000-03	Vecherie, LA
	3	Patrick Sapp	QB	1992-95	Jacksonville, FL
	7	Tony Horne	WR	1994-97	Rockingham, NC
	18	Chuck Lynch	P	1990-91	Wyndmoor, PA
	18	Fletcher Anderson	PK	2000-03	Columbia, SC
	23	Rod Gardner	WR	1997-00	Jacksonville, FL
	24	Chris Hart	DB	1986-89	Miami, FL
	27	Kevin Johnson	CB	2000-02	Orangeburg, SC
	27	James Trapp	SS	1989-92	Lawton, OK
	29	David Richardson	PK	1996-98	Clemson, SC
	44	Levon Kirkland	OLB	1988-91	Lamar, SC
	44	Jason Greene	DL	1998-00	Loris, SC
	53	Tommy Sharpe	C	2001-04	Albany, GA
	54	Geoff Rigsby	SN	2002-04	Greer, SC
	56	Tim Jones	LB	1991-94	Rock Hill, SC
	60	Jeff Taylor	BAN	1987-89	Seneca, SC
	67	Josh Smith	DL	2001-03	Easley, SC
	83	Stephon Wynn	TE	1991-94	Winnsboro, SC
	86	Trey Howell	WR	1986-88	Sumter, SC
	99	Lamarick Simpson	DL	1992-95	Rock Hill, SC
Coaching Staff:  Danny Ford, Brian Dawkins, Charlie Whitehurst

Rate this Story:
9 votes

Send Feedback to TigerNet Staff: Email | Comment

WATCH: Tankersley gets his first NFL interception

Clemson in top group for Elite 2019 OL

Clemson leads ACC football topping Power 5 ranks

Three Tigers ranked in ESPN's Top 70 fantasy football players

All signs pointing to Kelly Bryant starting at quarterback in the opener

Former Clemson DE waived by Titans

Friday Email Bag

Offense rebounds with two good days of practice, Scott breaks down QB battle

K.J. McDaniels to sign with new team
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest