Two former Tigers named to 2016 S.C. Hall of Fame class

by -
Two former Tigers named to 2016 S.C. Hall of Fame class

Greenville, SC: The South Carolina Football Hall of Fame (SCFHOF) is proud to announce their Class of 2016 inductees. This is the fourth annual ceremony for the SCFHOF, and the current class will join the other 16 members on April 21, 2016.

Jeff Davis, Stanley Morgan, Michael Dean Perry and Dal Shealy will join Deshaun Watson, the Collegiate Player of the Year presented by Hale's Jewelers at this year's ceremony to be held at the Hyatt Regency in Downtown Greenville. The ceremony will be hosted by Greenville native entertainer Orlando Jones. Preceding the ceremony will be the Annual Golf or Gun Tournament that is the main fundraiser for the SCFHOF and its Business Connect and Youth Scholarship Programs. The golf tournament will be held at Green Valley Country Club in Traveler's Rest and feature local celebrities and football dignitaries. For those that prefer shooting targets, there is also a sporting clay option at the River Bend Sportsman's Resort in Inman. These events will be held simultaneously. More information and tickets are available at Event registration ends when limited capacity is sold or by March 31, 2016.

Meet the Class of 2016

Jeff Davis – Jeff Davis was born in Greensboro, North Carolina in 1960. He played linebacker for Clemson University from 1978 to 1981, and played a significant role on Clemson’s national championship team. During his time at Clemson, he recorded over 450 tackles. In 1982, Jeff Davis was drafted by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the fifth round of the NFL Draft. Davis played 6 seasons in the NFL, and he started in 72 of his 83 games played. Davis was inducted into Clemson’s Ring of Honor in 1995. He was awarded First Team All-American in 1981. After the Orange Bowl victory against Nebraska, Jeff Davis was voted the ACC MVP and the Orange Bowl MVP for his outstanding performance. Davis also set the record for most forced fumbles in the history of the Clemson Tigers. When Davis played for Tampa Bay, he led the team in tackles and was the team captain for four seasons. In 1989, Davis was inducted into the Clemson Hall of Fame and in 2007 into the College Football Hall of Fame. He is currently the Assistant Athletic Director for Football Player Development at Clemson University.

Stanley Morgan – Stanley Morgan was born on February 17, 1955 in Easley, South Carolina, and began his football career at Easley High School. He helped lead Easley High School to a state championship in 1972. After high school, Morgan went on to play college football at the University of Tennessee. While at Tennessee, he set the record for all-purpose yards with 4,642. Morgan was selected in the first round by the New England Patriots. He led the NFL with yards per reception for three consecutive years. Stanley Morgan finished his career with over 10,000 receiving yards. Morgan led the NFL in yards per reception in 1979, 1981, and 1986. He went to four Pro Bowls, and was selected 2nd Team All Pro in 1980 and 1986. Morgan was inducted to the New England Patriots Hall of Fame in 2007, and he was inducted into the Tennessee Hall of Fame in 2000. Stanley Morgan played 13 years for the New England Patriots.

Michael Dean Perry – Michael Dean Perry was born in Aiken, South Carolina on August 27, 1965, and he attended South Aiken High School. Perry was a defensive lineman for Clemson University, and he set the record for the most sacks in school history. Perry was drafted in the second round by the Cleveland Browns in 1988. He played ten years in the NFL and was selected to the Pro Bowl 6 times. He won the AFC Defensive Player of the Year in 1989. Perry played his ten year career with the Cleveland Browns, Denver Broncos, and Kansas City Chiefs. He was named First-team All-Pro in 1989, and 1990, and Second-Team All-Pro in 1991, and 1994. He finished his career with 534 tackles, 61 sacks, and 13 forced fumbles. Michael Dean Perry currently lives with his wife in Charlotte, NC and owns A1 Transport.

Dal Shealy – Dal Shealy was born on August 1, 1938, and he attended high school in Batesburg, South Carolina. Shealy was a three sport athlete in high school and earned four varsity letters in each sport. He attended and played football for Carson-Newman College, and he eventually went on to serve his country in the Marines, where he continued playing football. After he left the military, Shealy began his coaching career. He went on to earn Coach of the Year in both 1971 and 1972 and took Carson-Newman to the NAIA championship in 1972. He helped reinstate the football programs at Mars Hill and Carson-Newman and was later the head coach with the University of Richmond. He also served as Assistant Head Coach and Offensive Coordinator at Baylor, Tennessee, Auburn, and Iowa State. Dal was a pioneer in coaching and football his entire career even developing some of the concepts and techniques now used in the popular spread offense. In 1989 Dal Shealy joined the FCA in its infancy and helped establish the organization as an international juggernaut. He served as President from 1992 until 2005. Accompanying his long list of accomplishments is Mr. Shealy’s literary success. He has written several books about playing football and coaching. Dal currently lives in Clemson, South Carolina with his wife Barbara, and they have been married over 55 years.

Ceremony Details

When: April 21st

Where: Hyatt Regency in Downtown Greenville

Time: 5:00pm Check In/6:00pm Doors Open/7:00pm Opening Remarks

Hosted by: Orlando Jones

Honoring: Collegiate Player of the Year presented by Hale's Jewelers (Deshaun Watson), Class of 2016, 2016 Humanitarian Award

Tickets: $200 per person/$1800 per table (10 seats) available at

Cause: Development for the SCFHOF Programs (Business Connect and Youth Scholarship Program) & the Mobile Museum and Fan Experience ("MMFE").

Comment on this story
Georgia power forward commits to Clemson
Georgia power forward commits to Clemson
Clemson RB named to AFCA Good Works team
Clemson RB named to AFCA Good Works team
Clemson Women's soccer with comeback victory over NC State
Clemson Women's soccer with comeback victory over NC State
Former Clemson basketball players honored with ACC's inaugural UNITE Award
Former Clemson basketball players honored with ACC's inaugural UNITE Award
Post your comments!

Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest