Brent Venables nominated for national coaching award

by -
Brent Venables nominated for national coaching award

Little Rock, AR - November 23, 2016 - The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2016 nominees for the Broyles Award. The 40 nominees in this year's class were chosen from almost 1,500 assistant coaches representing over 128 Division One college football programs.

Clemson defensive coordinator Brent Venables is one of the nominees. In his fifth season with the Tigers, Venables has his defense ranked 13th nationall in total defense at 316.1 yards per game.

Below is the full list of nominees for this year's Broyles Award:

Alabama - Jeremy Pruitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Arkansas State - Joe Cauthen, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Army West Point - Jay Bateman, Defensive Coordinator

Auburn - Kevin Steele, Defensive Coordinator

Boise State - Scott Huff, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive

Washington State - Alex Grinch, Defensive Coordinator/Secondary

Brigham Young - Ed Lamb, Special Team Coordinator/Safeties

Clemson - Brent Venables, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Colorado - Jim Leavitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Colorado State - Will Friend, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Georgia Southern - Chad Lunsford, Special Teams Coordinator/Tight Ends

Houston - Todd Orlando - Defensive Coordinator

Indiana - Tom Allen, Defensive Coordinator

Iowa State - Tom Manning, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Louisiana Tech - Todd Fitch, Offensive Coordinator/Wide Receivers

LSU - Dave Aranda, Defensive Coordinator

Miami - Manny Diaz, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Michigan - Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Missouri - Glen Elarbee, Offensive Line

Navy - Ivan Jasper, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Nebraska - Trent Bray, Linebackers

North Carolina - Larry Porter, Special Teams Coordinator/Running Backs

North Carolina State - Ryan Nielsen, Defensive Line

Oklahoma State - Mike Yurcich, Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Old Dominion - Brian Scott, Offensive Coordinator

Ole Miss - Matt Luke, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Ohio State - Kerry Coombs, Special Teams Coordinator/Cornerbacks

Penn State - Joe Moorhead, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Pittsburgh - Matt Canada, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

South Carolina - Travaris Robinson, Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Backs

Stanford - Mike Bloomgren, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Temple - Phil Snow, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

Troy - Matt Moore, Co-Offensive Coordinator

UCF - Erik Chinander, Defensive Coordinator

USC - Clancy Pendergast, Defensive Coordinator

Wake Forest - Mike Elko, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

Western Kentucky - Tony Levine, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Special Teams Coordinator

Western Michigan - Kirk Ciarrocca, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

West Virginia - Tony Gibson, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Wisconsin - Justin Wilcox, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

The Broyles Award honors college football's top assistant coach. The award was established in 1996 to recognize legendary head football Coach Frank Broyles. Coach Broyles had a track record of producing some of the most successful assistant coaches in college football history.

The legendary 18-member selection committee will select five finalists from the list of nominees and an overall winner. Those finalists will be invited to travel to Little Rock, Arkansas where the 2016 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 6th at 1:00 pm at the Marriott Hotel.

This year marks the first time the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation has presented the award. Proceeds from the 2016 Broyles Award will go to support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to educate, support, and connect with Alzheimer's caregivers.

"Every year the job of our selection committee is extremely difficult as they work to select the top five assistant coaches in America and an overall winner," said Betsy Broyles Arnold, Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation President. "We are very proud of the outstanding job assistant coaches continue to do across the country."

The winner of the 2015 Broyles Award was Lincoln Riley, University of Oklahoma. For a list of all previous winners, visit the Broyles Award website.

The Broyles Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 699 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

Comment on this story
Tigers rank second nationally to begin 2020 season
Tigers rank second nationally to begin 2020 season
ACC football weekend game postponed due to COVID-19
ACC football weekend game postponed due to COVID-19
Updated College Football Playoff picks for Clemson
Updated College Football Playoff picks for Clemson
Post your comments!
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest