Three Clemson Players On Award Lists

by -
Keith Adams joins Rocky Calmus of Oklahoma and Dan Morgan of Miami (FL) among the finalists for the Butkus Award.

Clemson, SC -- Keith Adams, Robert Carswell and Woodrow Dantzler were all
named finalists or semifinalists for national position awards on Thursday.
Adams, Clemson's All-America linebacker, was named one of three finalists
for the Butkus Award.

Carswell was listed among 12 semifinalists for the Thorpe Award,
which is presented to the top defensive back in the nation, while Dantzler
was named one of eight semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award, which is
give to the nation's top quarterback.

Earlier last week, wide receiver Rod Gardner was named one of 10
semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award. This is the first time in history
Clemson has had four different players listed as semifinalists or better
for national player position awards.

Clemson had a pair of semifinalists in 1997 when Tony Horne was
among the final 10 for the Biletnikoff and Anthony Simmons was one of the
top 10 for the Butkus. Clemson also had two top five players according to
position rankings in 1990. Levon Kirkland was listed among the final five
for the Butkus and Stacy Long was one of three finalists for the Outland

Adams joins Rocky Calmus of Oklahoma and Dan Morgan of Miami (FL)
among the finalists for the Butkus Award. Adams has 122 tackles, 16
tackles for loss and six sacks to rank among the top linebackers in the
nation. Calmus has 71 tackles and three sacks for the top ranked Sooners,
while Morgan has 93 tackles and eight tackles for loss for the Hurricanes.

The winner of the Butkus Award will be announced on December 8 in
Orlando, FL at an event televised nationally by Fox Sports Net.

Dantzler is Clemson's first quarterback in history to rank among
the semifinalists for a national award. The junior from Orangeburg, SC
has completed 108 of 184 passes for 1506 yards and 10 touchdowns. He has
also rushed for 867 yards and 13 touchdowns. That is the highest rushing
total in history for a Clemson quarterback.

Dantzler is joined on the list by Drew Brees of Purdue, Eric
Crouch of Nebraska, Joey Harrington of Oregon, Josh Heupel of Oklahoma,
Marques Tuiasosopo of Washington, Michael Vick of Virginia Tech and Chris
Weinke of Florida State. The winner will be announced Thursday, Dec. 7 on
the Home Depot College Football Awards Show from Orlando, FL on ESPN.

Carswell, who ranks fourth on the Clemson team in tackles with 69
and is Clemson's career leader among defensive backs in that area, is among
12 semifinalists for the Thorpe Award, which is also presented at the Home
Depot College Football Awards Show in Orlando on Dec. 7.

The other semifinalists for that award include Will Allen of
Syracuse, Leo Barnes of Southern Miss, James Boyd of Penn State, Gary
Baxter of Baylor, Nate Clements of Ohio State, Nijrell Eason of Arizona
State, Jamar Fletcher of Wisconsin, Andre Lott of Tennessee, Dwight Smith
of Akron, Fred Smoot of Mississippi State and J.T. Thatcher of Oklahoma.

Rate this Story:
0 votes


WATCH: TNT Highlight video "Powerful Beyond Measure"

Will the Tigers get blitz-happy against Tech's freshman QB?

Wilkins: Clemson's on to the next 'biggest game'

WATCH: The Big Cat Dexter Lawrence

WATCH: Ferrell ready to face home-state team

Renfrow: "We just got to go finish drives"

Feaster on Etienne: "He amazes me"

O'Daniel: "Be ready to play four quarters"

WATCH: Venables says Tigers need to "play much better" v. VT
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest