Hunt Semifinalist for Lou Groza Award

by -
Aaron Hunt Hunt has made 11 of 14 field goals this season.

Clemson, SC-- Clemson placekicker Aaron Hunt has been named as one
of the 20 semifinalists for the Lou Groza Award, the honor presented
to the top placekicker in college football.

The award will be presented by the FedEx Orange Bowl in a
ceremony on Tuesday, December 10, at the Sheraton West Palm Beach
Hotel at City Place in West Palm Beach, FL. The award is named in
the honor of Lou Groza, who revolutionized the kicking position by
creating the idea that a player could be exclusively used as a
kicker. He played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns with whom he
won four NFL championships and the NFL Player of the Year award in

Hunt has made 11 of 14 field goals, and 27 of 27 on extra
points so far this season, and is now 31-42 on field goals and
116-120 on extra points for his Clemson career. He is currently 22nd
in the nation in field goals per game and is 43rd in scoring this

Hunt, now Clemson's career leader in extra points, is seventh
in school history in scoring with 209 points. Last week he kicked a
21-yard field goal with eight seconds left to beat Duke, 34-31. It
marked the second time in his career that he has won a game with a
field goal with less than 10 seconds remaining.

The 20 Lou Groza Award semifinalists for 2002 are:
Joey Ashcroft of the Air Force Academy,
Asen Asparuhov of Fresno State University,
Xavier Beitia of Florida State University,
Dustin Bell of the University of Houston,
Billy Bennett of the University of Georgia,
Nick Browne of Texas Christian University,
Santiago Gramatica of the University of South Florida,
Nick Hayes of the University of Alabama-Birmingham,
Curtis Head of Marshall University,
Aaron Hunt of Clemson University
Mark Jensen of the University of California,
Nate Kaeding of the University of Iowa,
Dane Kidman of Utah State University,
Kevin Miller of East Carolina University,
Nick Novak of the University of Maryland,
Mike Nugent of Ohio State University,
Dan Nystrom of the University of Minnesota,
Jared Parseghian of Miami University,
Jared Siegel of the University of Oregon,
Shaun Suisham of Bowling Green State University.

Rate this Story:
32 votes


Swinney responds to Kirk Herbstreit on Clemson's playoff chances

Former Clemson OL Hairston out for season

Steve Spurrier says Clemson should be ranked No. 1 ahead of Alabama

Rudolph out for the season, Swinney looks for freshmen to step up

Clemson offers 2018 Auburn WR commit

WATCH: Swinney talks injuries, more after Wednesday practice

Clemson DE out for the season

Venables says Saturday sets up to be a bloody nose kind of day

Photos: Clemson vs. Louisville - 2
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest