Hill Named to Walter Camp All-America Team

by -

NEW HAVEN, CT. - Rose Bowl-bound USC and Texas each placed three players on the 2005 Walter Camp Football Foundation All-America team,
the 116th honored by the organization. The prestigious All-America team was announced live on ESPN's The Home Depot College Football Awards show.

Headlining the offensive squad is the 2005 Walter Camp Player of the Year Reggie Bush, a junior running back from USC. A 6-foot, 200-pounder from Spring Valley, Calif., Bush has rushed for 1,658 yards and scored 18 touchdowns (15 rushing, 3 receiving) for the
undefeated and top-ranked Trojans (12-0).

Hill had three interceptions for Clemson this season, playing the role of senior stateman at an otherwise inexperienced cornerback position this season.

Joining Bush in the offensive backfield is USC teammate and quarterback Matt Leinart, a repeat Walter Camp All-America selection.
Leinart, the 2004 Walter Camp Player of the Year, has passed for 3,450 yards and 27 touchdowns this season. A trio from the Pac-10
Conference - wide receivers Dwayne Jarrett (USC) and Mike Hass (Oregon State) and tight end Marcedes Lewis (UCLA) - also made the

On the offensive interior, seniors Marcus McNeill (Auburn), Eric Winston (Miami), Max Jean-Gilles (Georgia) and junior Jonathan Scott
(Texas) earned All-America honors, while senior Greg Eslinger (Minnesota) is the center.

The place kicker is Mason Crosby (Colorado). Crosby has connected on 21-of-28 field goals this season,
including 5-of-6 from 50 yards or more.

Leading the defensive unit is a repeat Walter Camp All-America selection, senior linebacker A.J. Hawk (Ohio State), who leads the
Buckeyes with 109 tackles and 7.5 quarterback sacks.

Joining Hawk on the linebacker corps is senior DeMeco Ryans (Alabama) and junior Paul Posluszny (Penn State).

A talented defensive line is bolstered by the nation's top sack (20.0) producer Elvis Dumervil (Louisville). Joining Dumervil are
seniors Tamba Hali (Penn State) and Rodrique Wright (Texas) and junior Haloti Ngata (Oregon).

The punter on the team is senior Ryan Plackemeier (Wake Forest), who leads the nation with a 47.2 yard per punt average, and the kick
returner is junior Maurice Drew (UCLA), who has returned three punts for touchdowns this season.

The Walter Camp All-America team is selected by the head coaches and sports information directors of the 119 Division 1-A football schools
and certified by UHY Advisors, a New Haven-based accounting firm.

Walter Camp Football Foundation President Allen Jackson was pleased with the voting participation.

"We had 86 percent of the 1-A schools participate in this year's voting," Jackson said. "We are very appreciative of the cooperation
of the coaches and SIDs in our effort to honor the most outstanding college players each and every season."

Rate this Story:
16 votes

Send Feedback to TigerNet Staff: Email | Comment

Swinney, Tigers send get well message to Navy OC son

Sideline Report: Hyatt saw stars after head injury, Venables does it all

Clemson holds situational scrimmage

Dabo Swinney: "God created us all equal. Period."

Four Clemson players named to SI's Preseason All-America team

"Inside Clemson Football with Dabo Swinney" will air on Mondays

Clowney on teammates from Clemson: "We got too many"

Scrimmage update: Bryant excels but Cooper and Johnson "are coming"

Tom Brady forecasts 'great future' for Watson
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest