Football Award Winners Announced

by -

CLEMSON - In December, Clemson quarterback Cullen Harper and safety Michael Hamlin were named permanent captains of the Clemson football team. On Saturday they were honored as the offensive and defensive most valuable players for the 2007 season. Those were just two of the awards presented Saturday night at the football's 2007 team banquet at the Madren Center.

Harper was named the offensive MVP after establishing 22 school records last year. He threw 27 touchdown passes to establish a school record and completed 65 percent of his passes for 2991 yards. He led the ACC in passing efficiency, just the fourth quarterback in Clemson history to lead the ACC in passing. Hamlin was second on the team in tackles with 97 and led the team in turnovers forced with six. He was a big reason Clemson ranked in the top 10 in the nation in scoring defense and total defense.

C.J. Spiller was named the special teams MVP for 2007. Spiller finished the year 14th in the nation in kickoff returns with a 29-yard average. He became the first player in Clemson history to return a kickoff for a touchdown in consecutive games when he scored against Duke and Wake Forest.

He became just the second Clemson player in history to return two kickoffs for touchdowns in the same season. Spiller led the Tigers in all-purpose yardage with 132.5 yards per game. He was named the offensive MVP of the Chick-fil-A Bowl. He had an 83-yard touchdown run in that game, the longest play of any kind in Clemson bowl game history.

Harper and Hamlin are juniors, while Spiller is a sophomore. All three will return next year to lead the Clemson team. The Tigers return 16 starters for next year, plus Spiller who was technically not a starter in 2007.

Clemson Football Award Winners for 2007
Presented January 12, 2008

Category                       Offense         Defense
Hustle Award               Tyler Grisham    Chris Chancellor
12th Man Award             Brandon Pilgrim  Jamie Cumbie
Iron Man Award             Michael Palmer   Cortney Vincent
Rookie of the Year         Chris Hairston   DeAndre McDaniel
Scout Team Player of Year  Jermaine Martin  Brandon Clear
MVP                        Cullen Harper    Michael Hamlin
Special Teams MVP                   C.J. Spiller

Category         Recipient
Solid Rock Award (Most consistent and dependable players by Position)
Quarterbacks    Cullen Harper
Running Backs   James Davis
Wide Receivers  Aaron Kelly
Tight Ends      Michael Palmer
Offensive Line  Barry Richardson
Defensive Backs Chris Clemons
Outside LB      Tramaine Billie
Inside LB       Nick Watkins
Defensive Line  Phillip Merling

Academic Awards
Category                 Recipient
Top GPA (Freshmen)      Caleb Simmons   
Top GPA (Sophomores)    Michael Wade
Top GPA (Juniors)       Brian Hill
Top GPA (Seniors)       Jimmy Maners
Top GPA (Team)          Tyler Stone
Most Improved:          Chris Chancellor, Crezdon Butler
Vickery Hall Award:     C.J. Spiller, Darius Gaither

Weight Room Awards
Strength All-American   Cullen Harper
Dedication Awards       Michael Hamlin, Tyler Grisham

Rate this Story:
18 votes

Send Feedback to TigerNet Staff: Email | Comment

Sideline Report: Hyatt saw stars after head injury, Venables does it all

Clemson holds situational scrimmage

Dabo Swinney: "God created us all equal. Period."

Four Clemson players named to SI's Preseason All-America team

"Inside Clemson Football with Dabo Swinney" will air on Mondays

Clowney on teammates from Clemson: "We got too many"

Scrimmage update: Bryant excels but Cooper and Johnson "are coming"

Tom Brady forecasts 'great future' for Watson

Former Clemson OT picks new school
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest