Cullen Harper Named to 2008 O'Brien Quarterback Award Watch List

by -

FORT WORTH, TX - Clemson quarterback Cullen Harper is one of 31 quarterbacks named to the preseason list of Davey O'Brien Awward candidates. The award is given each year to the top quarterback in college football.

Harper set 22 Clemson passing records last year when he threw for 2991 yards and 27 touchdowns. His touchdown pass total broke the previous mark by six. Harper led the ACC in passing efficiency last year, the first Clemson quarterback to do that since Mike Eppley in 1983.

This is the second quarterback award Harper has been nominated for. He was also named a preseason candidate for the Johnny Unitas Award, which goes to the top senior quarterback in college football.

Watch List candidates were selected by a subset of the National Selection Committee and approved by the Davey O'Brien Executive Committee. Semifinalists will be announced October 27; finalists November 24. This prestigious award focuses on accomplishments both on and off the field. The Selection Committee is asked to evaluate all candidates on their quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The 2008 winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN December 11. The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2008 O'Brien Watch List:
Todd Boeckman - SR, Ohio State
Sam Bradford - SO, Oklahoma
Tom Brandstater - SR, Fresno State
Hunter Cantwell - SR, Louisville
Rudy Carpenter - SR, Arizona State
Jimmy Clausen - SO, Notre Dame
Chase Clement - SR, Rice
Chase Daniel - SR, Missouri
Sean Glennon - SR, Virginia Tech
Matt Grothe - JR, South Florida
Max Hall - JR, BYU
Cullen Harper - SR, Clemson
Graham Harrell - SR, Texas Tech
Chase Holbrook - SR, New Mexico State
Kaipo-Noa Kaheaku-Enhada - SR, Navy
Dan LeFevour - JR, Central Michigan
Jake Locker - JR, Washington
Colt McCoy - JR, Texas
Curtis Painter - SR, Purdue
Todd Reesing - JR, Kansas
Mark Sanchez - JR, USC
Riley Skinner - JR, Wake Forest
Rusty Smith - JR, Florida Atlantic
Matthew Stafford - JR, Georgia
Tim Tebow - JR, Florida
Mike Teel - SR, Rutgers
Willie Tuitama - SR, Arizona
Drew Weatherford - SR, Florida State
Pat White - SR, West Virginia
Juice Williams - JR, Illinois
John Parker Wilson - SR, Alabama

About The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®
The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation had given away over $750,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

Rate this Story:
12 votes


Report: Clemson adds future non-conference foes

New rankings set up No. 1 battle for Lawrence, Fields

Photo Gallery: Fall Camp Final Day

Kirk Herbstreit: Clemson has never been hotter, but this season will be a challenge

4-star athlete picks up Clemson offer

Former Tiger called up for Wednesday start

Deon Cain: Clemson's next great wide receiver?

CFB rule changes for 2017 season

Kelly Bryant on being named starting quarterback: "It's an honor"
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest