Brooks and Rumph finalist for Defensive Line Coach of the Year

by -

Clemson, SC—Clemson defensive line coaches Dan Brooks and Chris Rumph are two of four finalists for National Defensive Line Coach of the Year by The website is the only national college football website that selects a national position coach of the year at each position.

Craig Kuligowski of Missouri and Bill Kirelawich of West Virginia are the other finalists.

Brooks and Rumph have coached a defensive line that has helped the Tigers to a number-nine ranking in scoring defense. Clemson is also second in the nation in fewest rushing touchdowns allowed and 15th in fewest first downs allowed. Clemson is also in the top 25 in the nation in total defense and pass efficiency defense.

Brooks and Rumph have had two first-team All-ACC players this year in Da’Quan Bowers and Jarvis Jenkins. Bowers won the Nagurski Award as the National Defensive Player of the Year as presented by the Football Writers Association, and won the Ted Hendricks Award as the top defensive end in college football. Bowers leads the nation in sacks with 15.5.

Dye Named Finalist for John Wooten Leadership Award

Senior Receiver Graduates on Thursday

Clemson, SC—Clemson receiver Xavier Dye is one of three finalists for the John Wooten Leadership Award. Dye is joined by Texas defensive end Sam Acho and Oklahoma defensive back Quinton Carter as finalists.

The John Wooten Leadership Award is presented annually to the college and professional football player whose play, community and extracurricular activities best exemplify the leadership and vision of John Wooten.

Dye, who received his undergraduate degree on Thursday, is a four-year letterman on the Clemson team who was named to the All-State Goodworks team of College Football last year. He has been very active in community service throughout his career.

The JWL Award is named in honor of John Wooten, whose NFL career has spanned over 50 years as a player and front office executive. Affectionately known as the “Godfather”, Wooten’s level of influence knows no bounds and his blessings (endorsement) can build a career. Commissioners, general managers and head coaches seek his advice and to gain his counsel is the key to gaining knowledge and insight that is virtually unparalleled in the NFL

Dye and the other two finalists will be honored Thursday, February 3, 2011 at the Hyatt Regency Reunion Hotel in Dallas, TX as part of the Super Bowl XLV festivities. The winner will be announced that night, along with the recipient of the NFL/s Fritz Pollard Award.

Rate this Story:
11 votes


Report: Clemson adds future non-conference foes

New rankings set up No. 1 battle for Lawrence, Fields

CFB rule changes for 2017 season

Kirk Herbstreit: Clemson has never been hotter, but this season will be a challenge

4-star athlete picks up Clemson offer

Former Tiger called up for Wednesday start

Deon Cain: Clemson's next great wide receiver?

Kelly Bryant on being named starting quarterback: "It's an honor"

ESPN releases statement on moving Robert Lee from UVA game
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest