Clemson Announces Men's Basketball Awards

by -

Clemson, SC--Clemson Head Coach Larry Shyatt announced the recipients
of team awards at the Clemson men's baskeball banquet on Sunday

Will Solomon was the recipient of the Paul Bowie Award, which
is presented to the team's MVP. Solomon led the Tigers in scoring
this year with a 19.7 average. He also made 95 three-point goals,
the second highest total in Clemson history, and shot 79 percent from
the foul line. It was the second straight year he has won the award,
the first Tiger to win the award by himself in consecutive years
since Chris Whitney in 1991-92 and 1992-93.

Tomas Nagys and Chris Hobbs won two awards apiece. Nagys won
the Hustle Award and was the named the team's most improved. Over
the last 10 games of the season Nagys improved his field goal
percentage by 25.8 percent to 46.6. He also increased his scoring
average from 1.8 points a game for the first 18 contests he played
to 7.1 over his last 10 games he played. Hobbs won the team field
goal percentage award, with a 56.6 percent mark, and was also the
team's top rebounder with a 6.3 average.

Tony Stockman, like Hobbs a first-team ACC All-Rookie team
selection, won the free throw shooting award. Sophomore guard Edward
Scott was named the team's top defender. Adam Allenspach and Pasha
Bains shared the team academic award. Allenspach will graduate in

Coach Shyatt also honored game clock operator Bill Shain for
his 38 years or service with a special lifetime contribution award.

Clemson Basketball Awards for 2000-01

Greenville Clemson Club Award
	Leading Rebounder					Chris Hobbs

Greater Columbia Clemson Club Award
	Highest Field Goal Percentage				Chris Hobbs

Spartanburg Clemson Club Award
	Best Defensive Player					Edward Scott

Greenwood County Clemson Club Award
	Highest Free Throw Percentage			        Tony Stockman

Florence County Clemson Club Award
	Most Hustle						Tomas Nagys

Fort Hill Clemson Club Award
	Academic Excellence					Adam Allenspach/Pasha Bains

Paul Bowie Award
	Most Valuable Player					Will Solomon

Lynch Award
	Most Improved						Tomas Nagys

Jim Phillips Coaches Award				        Gary & Andre Wade

Dr. R.C. Edwards Fan Award				        Joe Rogers

Bob Bradley Award						Sanford Rogers

Lifetime Contribution Award	               			Bill Shain

Rate this Story:
6 votes


Photos: Clemson vs. Boston College

Swinney recaps "weird" day against BC, previews Virginia Tech

Swinney updates several injuries on team

Vegas odds on Clemson-Virginia Tech

Twitter reacts to Deshaun Watson's performance vs. Patriots

WATCH: Deshaun Watson has video game moves

WATCH: Watson throws a laser for another TD against Patriots

Alabama builds lead on Clemson in AP poll

WATCH: Deshaun Watson throws 29-yard TD pass to Bruce Ellington
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest