Booker named to Wooden Award midseason list

by -

LOS ANGELES – The top 30 candidates for the John R. Wooden Award, the
nation’s most coveted college basketball honor, were named today by The Los Angeles Athletic
Club’s John R. Wooden Award Committee. Composed of the players who will compete for this
season’s player of the year award, the attached midseason list is based on individual excellence and
team record during the first half of the season.

Among the Midseason Top 30 candidates are returning Wooden Award All-American Luke
Harangody (2008, 2009) of Notre Dame (the nation’s No .4 scorer at 24.5 ppg) and returning players
from last year’s Wooden Award ballot, Sherron Collins (13.8 ppg, 4.2 ast) of Kansas, Duke’s Kyle
Singler (15.5 points, 7.4 rebs) and Kalin Lucas of Michigan State (15.7 ppg, 4.1 ast).

The list contains 31 players, not the traditional 30, because the playing status of Ohio State’s Evan
Turner is uncertain due to a back injury. Three teams have multiple players nominated: No. 1-ranked
Kansas (Collins, Cole Aldrich and Xavier Henry, who leads his team in scoring at 16.4 ppg); No. 7
Duke (Singler and John Scheyer) and No. 3 Kentucky (Patrick Patterson and John Wall).

The Big East leads the Midseason Top 30 with 6 players selected. The Big 12 and ACC follow with
five selections, the Big Ten with four, the SEC with three, the Pac-10, Mountain West and West
Coast with two and the Horizon League and Ivy League with one selection each. Overall, more than
90 different players received votes.

Ten players have been selected to the midseason Top 30 who were not on the preseason list. This
impressive group includes two freshmen, Kentucky’s Wall and Kansas’ Henry; and eight returning
players: James Anderson (Oklahoma State), Jimmer Fredette (Brigham Young), Darington Hobson
(New Mexico), Wesley Johnson (Syracuse), Jeremy Lin (Harvard), Quincy Pondexter (Washington),
Omar Samhan (Saint Mary’s) and Klay Thompson (Washington State).

Just as players who are not on the preseason list are eligible for the Midseason Top 30, players who
do not make the Midseason list are still eligible for the national ballot, which will be selected in
March and will consist of approximately 20 players, chosen by the Wooden Award National
Advisory Board Committee. Players selected to the national ballot will have to be certified by their
university as making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA.

More than 1,000 voters, comprised of sports media members and college basketball experts from
across the nation, will then cast their votes to determine both the 10-member All American Team
and Player of the Year. In late March, the 10-player Wooden Award All American Team will be
announced. The Women’s John R. Wooden Award Midseason list will be released next week.


Name               Height  Class  Pos. University
Cole Aldrich       6-11    Jr.    C    Kansas
Al-Farouq Aminu    6-9     So.    F    Wake Forest
James Anderson     6-6     Jr.    G    Oklahoma State
Trevor Booker      6-7     Sr.    F    Clemson
Matt Bouldin       6-5     Sr.    G    Gonzaga
Da'Sean Butler     6-7     Sr.    F    West Virginia
Sherron Collins    5-11    Jr.    G    Kansas
Ed Davis           6-10    So.    F    North Carolina
Jerome Dyson       6-3     Sr.    G    Connecticut
Jimmer Fredette    6-2     Jr.    G    Brigham Young
Luke Harangody$%   6-8     Jr.    F    Notre Dame
Manny Harris       6-5     Jr.    G    Michigan
Gordon Hayward     6-8     So.    G/F  Butler
Xavier Henry       6-6     Fr.    G    Kansas
Darington Hobson   6-7     Jr.    G/F  New Mexico
Robbie Hummel      6-8     Jr.    F    Purdue
Damion James       6-7     Sr.    G/F  Texas
Wesley Johnson     6-7     Jr.    F    Syracuse
Jeremy Lin         6-3     Sr.    G    Harvard
Kalin Lucas        6-0     Jr.    G    Michigan State
Greg Monroe        6-11    So.    C    Georgetown
Patrick Patterson  6-9     Jr.    F    Kentucky
Quincy Pondexter   6-6     Sr.    F    Washington
Scottie Reynolds   6-2     Jr.    G    Villanova
Omar Samhan        6-11    Sr.    C    Saint Mary’s
Jon Scheyer        6-5     Sr.    G    Duke
Kyle Singler       6-8     Jr.    F    Duke
Klay Thompson      6-6     So.    G    Washington State
Jarvis Varnado     6-9     Sr.    F/C  Mississippi State
John Wall          6-4     Fr.    G    Kentucky
Evan Turner#       6-7     Jr.    G/F  Ohio State
$ 2009 Wooden All-American
% 2008 Wooden All-American
# Injured, playing status uncertain

Rate this Story:
3 votes


Clowney on teammates from Clemson: "We got too many"

Sideline Report: Hyatt saw stars after head injury, Venables does it all

Clemson holds situational scrimmage

Dabo Swinney: "God created us all equal. Period."

Four Clemson players named to SI's Preseason All-America team

"Inside Clemson Football with Dabo Swinney" will air on Mondays

Scrimmage update: Bryant excels but Cooper and Johnson "are coming"

Tom Brady forecasts 'great future' for Watson

Former Clemson OT picks new school
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest