Harbin Named First-Team Freshman All-American

by -

DURHAM, N.C.-Rice two-way standout Joe Savery leads the 2005 Baseball
America All-Freshman team as the Freshman of the Year.

The 19-year-old lefthander/first baseman was named the Western Athletic
Conference's player of the year after leading the conference with a .382
batting average at the plate and 129 strikeouts on the mound. His 2.43 ERA
ranked second in the league.

Four first year players from the Big 12 Conference made the team, including
Adrian Alaniz, who earned two wins for Texas in the 2005 College World
Series. Tennessee was the only school with two first-team players; the
battery of catcher J.P. Arencibia and lefthander James Adkins helped lead
the Volunteers to Omaha.

The teams were selected by the staff of Baseball America.
C J.P. Arencibia, Tennessee

1b Sean Doolittle, Virginia

2b Taylor Harbin, Clemson

3b Beau Mills, Fresno State

SS Todd Frazier, Rutgers

OF Corey Brown, Oklahoma State

OF Jacob Priday, Missouri

OF Steven Strausbaugh, Western Carolina

DH Matt Wieters, Georgia Tech

UT Joe Savery, Rice

SP James Adkins, Tennessee

SP Adrian Alaniz, Texas

SP Johnny Dorn, Nebraska

SP John Ely, Miami (Ohio)

RP Mickey Storey, Florida Atlantic


C-Andrew Walker, Texas Christian

1B-Justin Baum, Pacific

2B-Jordan Pacheco, New Mexico

3B-Brad Emaus, Tulane

SS-Darwin Barney, Oregon State

OF-Matt Hague, Washington

OF-Kody Kaiser, Oklahoma

OF-Danny Payne, Georgia Tech

DH-Chris Johnson, Stetson

UT-Cole White, Army

SP-Kenn Kasparek, Texas

SP-David Price, Vanderbilt

SP-Wes Roemer, Cal State Fullerton

SP-Nick Schmidt, Arkansas

RP-David Robertson, Alabama


1982--Cory Snyder, 3b, Brigham Young

1983--Rafael Palmeiro, of, Mississippi State

1984--Greg Swindell, lhp, Texas

1985--Jack McDowell, rhp, Stanford; Ron Wenrich, of, Georgia

1986--Robin Ventura, 3b, Oklahoma State

1987--Paul Carey, of, Stanford

1988--Kirk Dressendorfer, rhp, Texas

1989--Alex Fernandez, rhp, Miami

1990--Jeffrey Hammonds, of, Stanford

1991--Brooks Kieschnick, rhp/dh, Texas

1992--Todd Walker, 2b, Louisiana State

1993--Brett Laxton, rhp, Louisiana State

1994--R.A. Dickey, rhp, Tennessee

1995--Kyle Peterson, rhp, Stanford

1996--Pat Burrell, 3b, Miami

1997--Brian Roberts, ss, North Carolina

1998--Xavier Nady, 2b, California

1999--James Jurries, 2b, Tulane

2000--Kevin Howard, 3b-ss, Miami

2001--Michael Aubrey, lhp-1b, Tulane

2002--Stephen Drew, ss, Florida State

2003--Ryan Braun, ss, Miami

2004--Wade LeBlanc, lhp, Alabama

Rate this Story:
2 votes


Dates set for 2018 Clemson-SC, Clemson-TAMU

Former Clemson WR signs with Roughriders

Bowl Projections for Clemson

ESPN analyst: Bryant 'will be better' than Watson

WATCH: Clemson is a complete football team

Wilkins: 'Don't score if you don't want to get me too excited'

WATCH: O'Daniel on his transition into playmaker role

WATCH: Hyatt seeing good things from O-line

WATCH: Renfrow on Etienne, Clemson offense
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest