Clemson selected as host site for NCAA Baseball Regional

by -

Clemson, SC -

Clemson was one of 16 sites selected to host an NCAA Baseball Regional for the 65th-annual Division I Baseball Championship, announced Sunday. The regional will begin at Doug Kingsmore Stadium on Friday. The Tigers will be one of four teams to play in the double-elimination tourney, as the 64-team field will be announced on ESPN on Monday at 12:30 PM.

Clemson was one of five ACC schools chosen to host a regional. The ACC led all conferences in host sites, as no other conference had more than three. The other ACC schools are Florida State, Georgia Tech, North Carolina, and Virginia. Other host schools include Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, Florida, Oregon State, Rice, South Carolina, Texas, Texas A&M, TCU, UCLA, and Vanderbilt.

This will be the 13th time since 1980 that Clemson plays host to a regional. It will be the first time Clemson plays host to a regional since 2009. It will also be the 11th year Clemson hosts a regional in Jack Leggett's 18th season as head coach of the Tigers. The Tigers are 41-9 all-time in home NCAA Tournament games, including a 38-7 record under Leggett.

The Tigers will be making their 24th NCAA Tournament in the last 25 years. In 2011, Clemson has a 41-18 overall record and 17-13 ACC regular-season mark.

Pre-ordered tickets can be picked up starting Wednesday at the Clemson Athletic Ticket Office. IPTAY members can purchase ticket books online at starting today (Sunday) and over the phone starting Monday. The ticket office will accept orders from the general public starting Tuesday at 8:00 AM.

Reserved ticket books will be available for $60. If reserved seating sells out, individual game reserved seats will be available on gameday for $12. If all reserved seats sell out for a particular game, general admission seats will be available for $8.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records (through May 28) are as follows:

* Atlanta - Georgia Tech (40-19)

* Austin, Texas - Texas (43-15)

* Fullerton, California - *Cal State Fullerton (39-15)

* Chapel Hill, North Carolina - North Carolina (45-14)

* Charlottesville, Virginia - *Virginia (48-9)

* Clemson, South Carolina - Clemson (41-18)

* College Station, Texas - *Texas A&M (41-18)

* Columbia, South Carolina - South Carolina (45-14)

* Corvallis, Oregon - *Oregon State (38-16)

* Fort Worth, Texas - TCU (42-17)

* Gainesville, Florida - *Florida (44-16)

* Houston - Rice (41-19)

* Los Angeles - *UCLA (33-21)

* Nashville, Tennessee - *Vanderbilt (47-9)

* Tallahassee, Florida - *Florida State (42-16)

* Tempe, Arizona - *Arizona State (38-16)

*Teams that are playing today (Sunday, May 29).

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team field.

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 3 to Monday, June 6.

Three institutions are hosting for the 20th time or more as Florida State leads the list of schools with 28. Texas is hosting for the 26th time, while this will be the 21st time that Arizona State has hosted a regional. Clemson and South Carolina are hosting for 13th time. Georgia Tech (11th), Cal St. Fullerton (10th) and Florida (10th) are the only other institutions to host 10 or more times since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

Rice is hosting for the ninth time, while Texas A&M is hosting a regional for the seventh time and North Carolina for the sixth time. Virginia is hosting for the fifth time, while Oregon State, TCU and UCLA are hosting for a third time. Rounding out the list is Vanderbilt, hosting for only the second time.

Nine institutions (Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, Florida, Georgia Tech, South Carolina, Texas, TCU, UCLA and Virginia) also hosted in 2010.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at 12:30 p.m. Eastern time, Monday, May 30. The half-hour program will be shown live on ESPNHD. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on , Monday, June 6 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).

There are 30 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 65th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 18, at the new TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.


Atlantic Coast            5 (Clemson, Florida State, Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Virginia)
Pacific-10                3 (Arizona State, Oregon State, UCLA)
Southeastern              3 (Florida, South Carolina, Vanderbilt)
Big 12                    2 (Texas, Texas A&M)
Big West                  1 (Cal State Fullerton)
Conference USA            1 (Rice
Mountain West             1 (TCU) 

Rate this Story:
18 votes

Post your comments!

Monday's Clemson practice report

Swinney announces starter at quarterback

Swinney announces starting QB, lists who will likely play and who will redshirt

WATCH: McCloud discusses playing cornerback

WATCH: Carter sees depth as key to Clemson DBs surprising

Fuller: "I feel like I had a pretty good camp"

Renfrow on Bryant: 'We know that he's the guy'

WATCH: Swinney after Monday's practice

WATCH: Clemson Police releases Star Wars Eclipse video
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest