Boyd on Preseason Player of Year Watch List

by -
Boyd ranks in the school's top 10 in career doubles (seventh), career runs scored (ninth), career hits (ninth) and career RBIs (ninth).

HOUSTON, TX - Clemson senior centerfielder Patrick Boyd has been
named to the 2001 Rotary Smith Watch List, the Rotary Club of Houston
announced Wednesday. The 14th annual Rotary Smith Award will be
handed out in Houston on June 28.

The preliminary watch list was compiled after submissions by sports
information personnel at all of the NCAA Division I baseball schools.
Additional nominations may be added to the list until the first round
of voting begins in May.

Boyd, a senior from Palm Harbor, FL, is a second-team preseason
All-American by Baseball America and is ranked as the third-best
senior in the nation by the publication. He is a career .341 hitter
with a .442 on-base percentage and 49 stolen bases in three seasons.
He ranks in the school's top 10 in career doubles (seventh), career
runs scored (ninth), career hits (ninth) and career RBIs (ninth).
Boyd was a second team All-America selection in 1999 and was drafted
in the fourth round by the Pittsburgh Pirates in last year's amateur

Voting to determine the list of 12 semifinalists will begin in May
and the list will be announced at the conclusion of the regular
season. Three finalists will be announced prior to the start of NCAA
Super Regional Action, the week of June 1-3.

Now in its 14th year, the Rotary Smith Award is awarded each summer
to the nation's top college baseball player. Once again this year,
the gala Award Dinner will be held at the Doubletree-Post Oak Hotel
in Houston. The Award, a national project of the Rotary Club of
Houston, raises money for Rotary national charities, Texas Children's
Hospital and the Karl Young League.

Seven previous winners of the Award were active in major league
baseball during the 2000 season: 1988 winner Andy Benes of
Evansville (St. Louis Cardinals), 1991 winner Bobby Jones of Fresno
State (New York Mets), 1993 winner Darren Dreifort of Wichita State
(Los Angeles Dodgers), 1994 winner Jason Varitek of Georgia Tech
(Boston Red Sox), 1995 winner Mark Kotsay of Cal State-Fullerton
(Florida Marlins), 1996 winner Kris Benson of Clemson (Pittsburgh)
and 1997 winner Tim Hudson of Auburn (Oakland Athletics).

The Tigers are ranked in the top 10 by two polls, including a #5
ranking by Collegiate Baseball. Clemson opens the season Feb. 16-18
when it hosts Richmond in a three-game series at Doug Kingsmore

Rate this Story:
30 votes


Swinney's Monday injury update

Clemson safety moved to cornerback

Virginia Tech DB out for the season

Gametime announced for Clemson-Wake Forest

Clemson Pros: Watson 'phenomenal' play wows Texans vs Patriots

Clemson depth chart vs. Virginia Tech

3-star SF commits to Clemson

Hokies coach on facing Clemson: "It’s like defusing a bomb"

Scott: Feaster and Etienne are above the rest
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest