Baseball to Play at Baylor Saturday

by -

INDIANAPOLIS --The eight super-regional hosts were announced today by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee, which then announced the times of the eight best-of-three series.

A minimum of 33 hours of super-regional television will be provided by ESPN and ESPN2. Consult local listings for specific games shown in each area of the country. As many as 14 national broadcast windows could appear on the two ESPN networks from June 10-13. In addition, ESPNU will provide bonus coverage of numerous super regional games.

The following four super regionals will be played Friday, June 10, Saturday, June 11, and Sunday, June 12 (if necessary). Updated records through the regionals are in parenthesis. All eight national seeds advanced to the super regionals and their national seed is indicated before the team name. The four winners will open College World Series (CWS) play Friday, June 17. All times are local.

Miami (Fla.) (41-17-1) at No. 3 Nebraska (54-13)
12 p.m., 11 a.m., 3 p.m.

Tennessee (44-19) at No. 2 Georgia Tech (45-17)
4 p.m., 1 p.m., 6 p.m.

Florida St. (53-18) at No. 7 Florida (43-20)
7 p.m., 7 p.m., 1 p.m.

Arizona St. (37-22) at No. 6 Cal St. Fullerton (45-16)
7 p.m., 4 p.m., 3 p.m.

The following four best-of-three super regionals will be played Saturday, June 11, Sunday, June 12, and Monday, June 13 (if necessary). The four winners will play their first CWS games Saturday, June 18. All times are local.

Clemson (42-21) at No. 4 Baylor (42-21)
11 a.m., 3 p.m., TBA

Rice (44-17) at No. 1 Tulane (53-9)
12 p.m., 12 p.m., TBA

Texas (49-15) at No. 5 Mississippi (47-18)
6 p.m., 5 p.m., TBA

Southern California (40-20) at No. 8 Oregon St. (44-9)
7 p.m., 6 p.m., 4 p.m.

Please note that some starting times on Monday will be dependent upon the number of games that will be played on that day. Please consult for updates on starting times.

Only three of last year’s CWS participants can return to Omaha, but defending champion Cal St. Fullerton and national runner-up Texas both advanced to this year’s super regionals. Miami (Fla.), which is attempting to make a third consecutive appearance in Omaha, is the only other team from last year’s CWS field to make it out of the regional round. The Hurricanes are in the super regionals for the seventh consecutive year, and their 10 super regional wins are tied with Stanford for the most since the NCAA changed its format to include the super regional round in 1999. Cal St. Fullerton advanced to the super regional for the third straight year and for the fifth time overall, while Texas made it to the super regional for the fifth time, including fourth year in a row.

Florida St. joins Miami (Fla.) as the only two schools to have reached the super regional round in each of the past seven years. Clemson, Rice and Southern California are all in a super regional for the fifth time, while Georgia Tech and Nebraska are each making their fourth trip to the super regionals. This will be the third time playing in a super regional for Baylor and Tulane, while Arizona St., Florida and Tennessee are all participating in a super regional for a second time. Mississippi and Oregon St. are both in their first-ever super regional.

The determination of the order of first-round games both Friday, June 17, and Saturday, June 18, will be announced either Sunday, June 12 or Monday, June 13, depending on the if-necessary games for the four super regionals scheduled for June 11-13. The ESPN family of networks and will release the CWS game times as soon as they are available.

CWS games scheduled for Friday, June 17 include the winner of the Tennessee-Georgia Tech super regional playing the winner of the Florida St.-Florida super regional, and the winner of the Arizona St.-Cal St. Fullerton super regional facing the Miami (Fla.)-Nebraska winner. CWS games scheduled for Saturday, June 18 include the winner of the Rice-Tulane super regional squaring off against the Southern California-Oregon St. super regional, and the Texas-Mississippi super regional winner facing the Clemson-Baylor winner.

Texas has earned a berth in the College World Series 31 times, while Miami (Fla.) and Southern California have reached the CWS on 21 occasions. Arizona St. and Florida St. have each played in 18 College World Series, while Cal St. Fullerton has played in 13 and Clemson has made 10 appearances. Florida, Mississippi and Rice have been in Omaha four times, while Tennessee has made it three times, and Baylor, Georgia Tech and Nebraska all have two appearances. Oregon St. and Tulane have advanced to the College World Series once apiece.

The 59th College World Series begins play Friday, June 17, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.

Rate this Story:
11 votes


Clowney on teammates from Clemson: "We got too many"

Sideline Report: Hyatt saw stars after head injury, Venables does it all

Clemson holds situational scrimmage

Dabo Swinney: "God created us all equal. Period."

Four Clemson players named to SI's Preseason All-America team

"Inside Clemson Football with Dabo Swinney" will air on Mondays

Scrimmage update: Bryant excels but Cooper and Johnson "are coming"

Tom Brady forecasts 'great future' for Watson

Former Clemson OT picks new school
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest