2006 All-ACC Baseball Team Announced

by -

GREENSBORO, N.C. - The Atlantic Coast Conference announced today the recipients of the Baseball All-ACC teams and individual award winners as voted on by the league's 12 head coaches. NC State led all schools with six honorees on this season's All-Conference teams. Five schools each placed four members on the All-Conference teams including Clemson -2006 Atlantic Division champions, North Carolina - 2006 Coastal Division champions, Virginia, Georgia Tech and Miami. Florida State and Wake Forest each had three student-athletes selected.

Virginia's Sean Doolittle was honored as the ACC Player of the Year. Doolittle started all 56 games for the Cavaliers in 2006 rotating between first base and pitcher. At the plate, Doolittle hit .318 with 63 hits in 198 at-bats. He led the team in RBI (52) and base-on-balls (50), while posting a .980 fielding percentage. The sophomore southpaw also started 13 games on the mound for the Cavaliers posting a record of 10-1 with a save and a team-leading ERA of 1.90. The Tabernacle, N.J., native registered 94 strikeouts in 80.2 innings, while holding opponents to a .187 batting average. Doolittle becomes the second Cavalier to win Player of the Year honors in the last three years.

North Carolina's Andrew Miller was tabbed ACC Pitcher of the Year. Miller is currently tied for the league-high in wins with 11 in 2006, while posting an ERA of 1.71 which is tops among starters in the ACC. The junior left-hander is second in the conference in strikeouts with 98 as he worked 89.2 innings this season. Miller became the Tar Heels' career strikeout leader this year recording No. 290 in last week's game against Boston College. Miller surpassed Michael Hoog, who accumulated 289 K's from 1987-1990. Miller, a native of Gainesville, Fla., also became the first 11-game winner for North Carolina since 1995.

Allan Dykstra of Wake Forest was named the ACC Freshman of the Year. In his first year with the Demon Deacons, Dykstra led the team in home runs (14), RBI (55), base-on-balls (51) and hit-by-pitches (12), while starting in all 53 games at first base. Dykstra batted .331 on the season and his 14 home runs were the second most recorded in the ACC in 2006. The San Diego, Calif., native also played well defensively for Wake Forest posting a .986 fielding percentage, committing only seven errors in 496 chances. Dykstra becomes just the second Demon Deacon to win this award in school history.

For the third time in his career, Clemson's Jack Leggett was named the ACC Coach of the Year. Leggett led the Tigers to a 43-13 regular season finish and the No. 1 overall seed in this week's conference baseball tournament with a league-best 24-6 mark. Under the tutelage of Leggett, Clemson was ranked in the top 15 all season by three major polls including four consecutive weeks at No. 1 by Baseball America. This is the 21st regular season title for the Tigers and first since 1995.

First Team

# Name, School Position

9 Matt Antonelli, Wake Forest Third Base

1 Matt Camp, NC State Outfield

3 Ramon Corona, NC State Second Base

10 Jay Cox, North Carolina Outfield

48 Josh Cribb, Clemson Starting Pitcher

24 Andy D'Alessio, Clemson First Base

21 Sean Doolittle, Virginia Starting Pitcher

15 Tom Hagan, Virginia Designated Hitter/Utility

22 Bryan Henry, Florida State Starting Pitcher

12 Josh Horton, North Carolina Shortstop

23 Ben Hunter, Wake Forest Relief Pitcher

30 Jon Jay, Miami Outfield

33 Andrew Miller, North Carolina Starting Pitcher

20 Danny Payne, Georgia Tech Outfield

2 Shane Robinson, Florida State Outfield

10 Eddy Rodriguez, Miami Catcher

Second Team

# Name, School Position

33 Aaron Bates, NC State First Base

18 Jason Berken, Clemson Starting Pitcher

10 Tyler Chambliss, Florida State Starting Pitcher

21 Tyler Colvin, Clemson Outfield

23 Jonathan Diaz, NC State Shortstop

10 Allan Dykstra, Wake Forest First Base

14 Wes Hodges, Georgia Tech Third Base

35 Jeff Kindel, Georgia Tech Outfield

5 Caleb Mangum, NC State Catcher

9 Brandon Marsh, Virginia Outfield

43 Chris Perez, Miami Relief Pitcher

45 Jon Still, NC State Designated Hitter/Utility

25 Jacob Thompson, Virginia Starting Pitcher

2 Jemile Weeks, Miami Second Base

32 Matt Wieters, Georgia Tech Catcher

20 Robert Woodard, North Carolina Starting Pitcher

Player of the Year: Sean Doolittle, Virginia

Pitcher of the Year: Andrew Miller, North Carolina

Freshman of the Year: Allan Dykstra, Wake Forest

Coach of the Year: Jack Leggett, Clemson

Rate this Story:
12 votes


College GameDay set for Clemson-Virginia Tech

BC head coach on team's 34-7 loss to Clemson

Ferrell: Fan response to struggles 'comes with the territory'

Etienne on scoring touchdowns: "That's my mindset"

Swinney updates several injuries on team

Swinney: "We took it over in the trenches"

Etienne wins Leather Helmet award

Swinney to ESPN: 'They're just kicking our butt'

A win, yes, but sloppy play can’t be overlooked
Sign Up for E-Mail News Alerts
Daily Digest