Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
Injury Could Force Tigers to Plan B on Stopping TCU's Hughes
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 22
| visibility 1

Sep 21, 2009, 11:33 AM

Starting right tackle Chris Hairston sprained the MCL in his left knee during the third quarter of Saturday’s 25-7 victory over the Boston College Eagles. Full Story »

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: Injury Could Force Tigers to Plan B on Stopping TCU's Hughes

Sep 21, 2009, 12:04 PM

To the author of this article.

Thanks for the story, but as a writer, I think you need to make a few changes.

Specifically, if you are adding information into a quote for clarification purposes, you should use the [ ] characters, not parenthesis.

Example:
“He (Hairston) looked fairly good this morning (Sunday),”

Should Read:
“He [Hairston] looked fairly good this morning [Sunday],”

Obviously this isn't a huge deal, but it is the correct way. And since this article is considered a publication, I think it should use accurate punctuation.

Also, you need to consider your audience in your article. For example, you can assume the average reader of this article will understand when the game occured.

Thus, "He certainly left his presence on the field yesterday (Saturday).” probably doesn't need the Saturday clarification as the article already states when the comments were made and the average person knows Saturday comes before Sunday.

Sep 21, 2009, 12:14 PM

Good lord, man!!!!

Sep 21, 2009, 12:22 PM

No doubt. When did this become English 340?

Sep 21, 2009, 12:31 PM

It's not.