»
Topic: Oregon was robbed
Replies: 18   Last Post: Sep 23, 2018 12:49 AM by: tiger_thom®
This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.


[ Archives - Tiger Boards Archive ]
Start New Topic
Replies: 18  

Oregon was robbed


Posted: Sep 22, 2018 11:41 PM
 

Of a TD and pass interference.


3 knees and a punt and they win in regulation***

[2]
Posted: Sep 22, 2018 11:42 PM
 



2018 purple level memberbadge-donor-15yr.jpg


^^^this...***


Posted: Sep 22, 2018 11:43 PM
 




Yea, they choked***

[1]
Posted: Sep 22, 2018 11:44 PM
 




They were not robbed of a TD


Posted: Sep 22, 2018 11:44 PM
 

When a player's foot hits the pylon he's out of bounds.

And they got a first down after the no-call on the PI so I think it's moot. And IMO when you fumble instead of taking a knee you kind of deserve what you get.


why is it always a touchdown when a player dives


Posted: Sep 22, 2018 11:50 PM
 

And hits it with the football then?


something to do with planes and breaking them***


Posted: Sep 22, 2018 11:52 PM
 



2018 purple level memberbadge-donor-15yr.jpg


Re: why is it always a touchdown when a player dives


Posted: Sep 22, 2018 11:53 PM
 

That is just the rules. Out of bounds is different for the ball than it is for the players body holding the ball.


Because the pylon is the front corner of the endzone...


Posted: Sep 22, 2018 11:54 PM
 

In order to hit the inside of the pylon with the football, the nose must cross the plane of the endzone. If the ball hits the front of the pylon, then it's out of bounds at what amounts to the inch line lol.


I don’t think that’s true.

[1]
Posted: Sep 23, 2018 12:39 AM
 

The pylon is considered a single point that is both the very front of the plane of the end zone and the very start of the plane out of bounds. It doesn’t matter which side you hit or what you hit it with, at the instant part of you touches the pylon the play is dead (assuming it wasn’t already dead) and the ball is considered to be dead at whatever point it sits. So in the case of this game the ball was immediately dead as soon as his foot hit and it is to be spotted exactly where it is at that instant.

If you hit the pylon with the ball, the exact same mechanics occur, play is over with the ball being spotted exactly where it is. But in this case at that moment, by rule, the ball has broken the plane, thus it’s a TD.

2018 white level memberbadge-donor-15yr.jpg


True. Herbie was giving the refs the

[1]
Posted: Sep 22, 2018 11:44 PM
 

business for not calling PI on the first pass into the endzone. Clearly pass interference.


Agree with the PI but which TD?


Posted: Sep 22, 2018 11:45 PM
 

I wasn’t watching it the whole time. I saw where they were reviewing one but it looked like the ball was short of the goal line when his knee hit. Was it that one or a diff one?


Re: Agree with the PI but which TD?


Posted: Sep 22, 2018 11:49 PM
 

A different one, but pretty much same. Except in the first one, instead of his knee hitting the ground his foot hit the pylon before the ball crossed the plane. Both were “within a yard”...but I think they still scored on the “knee one” on the ensuing play. In the pylon one, they fumbled for a long TD return... huge momentum change that started the whole downfall...


Agreed... but don't fumble and it's a non-issue...

[1]
Posted: Sep 22, 2018 11:51 PM
 

Oregon put themselves in a position to leave the game up to the refs. Oh well.


Re: Oregon was robbed


Posted: Sep 22, 2018 11:55 PM
 

They were. Obvious PI in the endzone that should have been first and goal on the 1.

Their coach really screwed up by not taking a knee at the end of regulation. Not sure how much time would have been left but it wouldn't have been much. Much less time and a much longer field than they ended up giving Stanford.


Re: Oregon was robbed


Posted: Sep 23, 2018 12:24 AM
 

The replay showed just the opposite. The ball broke the plane before his foot hit out of bounds. Both announcers said it. The ball was placed at the 1 yard line for some unknown reason because he clearly did not go out of bounds. The fumble and return for a touchdown should never had happened if the refs made the correct call.

2018 purple level member

That is just simply wrong.


Posted: Sep 23, 2018 12:42 AM
 

The play is, by rule, dead the instant his foot hit the pylon. At that moment the ball had not crossed the plane. The announcers were dead wrong, and the rules expert corrected them.

2018 white level memberbadge-donor-15yr.jpg


The PI in the endzone


Posted: Sep 23, 2018 12:49 AM
 

It would not have been spotted at the two, because, I think, that is only from replays that originated within 17 yards of the endzone, otherwise it would just have been half the distance. And Oregon did end up getting a first down on an ensuing play, which put them in almost the exact same position (1st and goal from the 10 versus 1st and 10 from the 12.

2018 white level memberbadge-donor-15yr.jpg


Re: Oregon was robbed


Posted: Sep 23, 2018 12:48 AM
 

It was a great game. I was pulling for Stanford. I think Coach Shaw is a great Coach. And he does things the "Right" way. Coach Swinney and Coach Shaw make College Football the game we all love. Go Tigers


Replies: 18  

TIGER TICKETS

FB GAME: Cotton Bowl
FOR SALE: Four on 50 yard line section 413...$800 for the four obo. Email if interested. Go Tigers!!

Buy or Sell CU Tickets and More in Tiger Tickets!

[ Archives - Tiger Boards Archive ]
Start New Topic
1883 people have read this post