Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
And for all the whining...the numbers
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 38
| visibility 1

And for all the whining...the numbers

Sep 20, 2018, 12:36 AM

This is the thing that would scare the absolutely crap out of me...if I was an opposing coach looking to take down Clemson. The more you look at the numbers, the scarier Clemson looks.

Clemson hasn't been firing on all cylinders to start the year. As usual. The reason is also the usual: a lot of new pieces, and the vast numbers of players Clemson is playing, in key moments, early on in football games. If you've been paying attention, it's been kind of hard to miss that Clemson has played 3 QB's significant snaps already. And 4 RB's. And 10 WR's. And 5 TE's, 10 OL's, 13 DL's, 9 LB's, and 10 DB's...it goes on. And on.

Dabo plays his guys. Yes, it's inconvenient, especially early. The team looks clunky, often never seems to get in a rhythm. You're having to live with a bunch of Young Player mistakes, often all at once.

And yet...the performance metrics. They're good. Shockingly good, given the perception.

For all the catwerwauling and hand-wringing and external condemnation, Clemson ranks #20 overall in total offense, at 513.0 yards per game. For as "unstoppable" as everyone claims Alabama has looked, the Tide rank just six spots ahead of Clemson, coming in at #14 nationally at 544.7 ypg. Georgia? They're ranked #31 overall, at 488.3 ypg...and they've played absolutely nobody. Well, (cough), South Carolina.