Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
Why do people jump thru so many hoops to cook a steak?
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - General Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 43
| visibility 1,175

Why do people jump thru so many hoops to cook a steak?

May 7, 2020, 6:42 PM

I've been cooking perfect steaks for the last 25 years or so with nothing more than a weber grill and charcoal. I was in a Chicago bar many years ago and struck up a conversation with a guy who worked at one of the bigtime local steakhouses. No, I don't remember which one. He told me - look, it's simple...

Buy the best meat you can find. Set it out and let it get to room temperature before you grill. Flop it in olive oil and and add a ton of kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper. More than you think is necessary. Pile up the coals on one side of the grill so it's super hot. Throw em on there and let em sear about a minute or so. Brush a little butter on em. Don't worry if it flares up. Flip em. More butter.

Move em to the the other side of the grill for indirect heat. A couple minutes more, flip em. Depending on thickness and whether you want rare, medium rare, etc, you learn with experience. Jerk em off (yeah I know) and wrap em in a couple layers of foil and let em rest for about 10 minutes or so. They will continue cooking.