Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
USC Leaving ACC in 1971
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 34
| visibility 251

USC Leaving ACC in 1971

May 22, 2012, 10:06 PM

This is the first time I have posted here, although I post quite a bit in The State.

My reason for this post...I have a question. Does anyone know where I can find an official report regarding Clemson's involvement with USC at the time of their departure from the ACC?

I was a Clemson student in 1971 and don't remember it happening the way Gamecock fans claim at all. Surprise here, right?

They claim we shafted them on a pact to leave the ACC together, and I remember that we tried to get USC to align with Clemson to take the matter of admission requirements to court with leaving as a plan "B."

If the courts did not work (which, of course, they did), then we exit together. USC was so bent on leaving at any cost that they wouldn't consider it.

I would like to locate this info, but I cannot find any official report to support either my claim or theirs.

If anyone has a credible info source, I'd like to know about it. Thanks.

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

There is no "official report" of such.

May 22, 2012, 10:52 PM

South Carolina was intent on leaving the ACC because they felt they were being treated unfairly- primarily by North Carolina schools and the conference office.

Some people believe, because Clemson was being treated in a very similiar way, that some Clemson higher ups had - behind the scenes - indicated they would follow South Carolina if they were to make the jump.