Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
Homesick post is SRS
Archives - General Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 19
| visibility 418

Homesick post is SRS

Aug 15, 2014, 12:14 PM

The post on moving made me think. I graduated from Clemson in 2001. I've moved 5 times since then:

SC to DE (single)
DE to NJ (married)
NJ to PA (married, but barely after Jersey)
PA to VA (2 kids)
VA to PA (3 kids, in process)

I grew up on a tobacco farm in SC but after Clemson I got a solid job with my company and have been fortunate to do well with them and they have given me opportunities to progress in my career. Most of the promotional opportunities have required a move. And there is no way I could have progressed in salary of course but also enjoyment in my job. I do nothing related to engineering but I have lived every job more than the last.

For me, it has absolutely been worth it. It's a question of short term vs long term. Yes it's nice to be close to family and your home community NOW, but for me, my view was on the long term, changing my family tree. I grew up poor. We are not wealthy now by any means but financially we are comfortable enough to not worry about the basics, my wife can stay at home with the kids and follow her heart, and we've been able to establish our own family identity. None of this would be possible if we hadn't been geographically flexible. In fact my company shut down the plant I started working at and it has since burned to the ground, so I'd probably be unemployed or at least would have been forced into a different local job.