Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
The “Slippery Slope” FALLACY
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 19
| visibility 1

The “Slippery Slope” FALLACY

Jun 9, 2020, 12:04 PM

First, to address a few of the comments on my earlier posts, I very well recognize that removing a name from a building/place/thing requires us to apply a value judgment.

I hold a Master of Arts degree in history and a Master of Historic Preservation. I get it, I really do.

Second, it is perfectly acceptable to apply a value judgment on people from the past (especially those we chose to honor).

Throughout human history value judgments have been made on the actions of those who came before us.

Third, each person that we chose to honor needs to be looked at in totality. It is not as simple as this “person did X and thus should or should not be honored.”

I’m placing a value judgment on John C. Calhoun and Benjamin Tillman. IN TOTALITY, neither were good men or even decent men. They were openly racist and advocated for white supremacy. They looked out for their own interest and the interest of those that looked like them and practiced their same religion. In short, they sure as hell knew better and still chose ignorance and hate.