Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
Clemson ring ceremony
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 9
| visibility 3,387

Clemson ring ceremony

Nov 16, 2018, 8:18 AM

Had another opportunity to see the Clemson ring ceremony last night; something that did not exist when I was a student. I simply picked-up my ring in the old bookstore located below Harcombe.

The decorative elements (the eagles, the US crest, the State seal, the rifles, the star, the "C" and the palmetto tree) didn't just happen by accident. Dr. Jerry Reel, Clemson Historian, gives a detailed history of the ring and how it transformed over the years into what he have today.

Then, Colonel Ben Skardon recounts the very moving story of how his Clemson ring literally saved his life during the Bataan Death March following the surrender of Bataan in April of 1942. Interestingly, there are fewer than 1,000 survivors of the March still living and Dr. Skardon is the only surviving member who is still physically able to walk the March route at the memorial ceremonies that are held.

It's a moving tribute and one that just further enhances the pride in wearing the ring. If you ever have the opportunity to attend, I strongly encourage you to do so.

One other interesting factoid, the small wooden boxes in which the rings come are made from trees that once stood on Clemson's campus.

2024 orange level memberbadge-donor-20yr.jpg flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.

Thanks for posting - especially Military Appreciation Week

Nov 16, 2018, 8:33 AM