»
Topic: Announcer said tie goes to running
Replies: 18   Last Post: Feb 21, 2018 11:57 AM by: under11par®
This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.


[ Archives - Tiger Boards Archive ]
Start New Topic
Replies: 18  

Announcer said tie goes to running

[2]
Posted: Feb 20, 2018 6:56 PM
 

That's wrong no such thing. You either out or safe period.

badge-donor-05yr.jpg

Work Hard, Do Your Best, Keep Your Word, Never Get Too Big For Your Britches, Trust In God, Have no fear and Never Forget a Friend ~ Harry S. Truman


Re: Announcer said tie goes to running

[1]
Posted: Feb 20, 2018 7:03 PM
 

sorry but you are wrong. Tie goes to the runner always has.


Re: Announcer said tie goes to running


Posted: Feb 20, 2018 7:07 PM
 

Nope, you are dead wrong my friend. Show me in the rule book. There is no such thing.

badge-donor-05yr.jpg

Work Hard, Do Your Best, Keep Your Word, Never Get Too Big For Your Britches, Trust In God, Have no fear and Never Forget a Friend ~ Harry S. Truman


Re: Announcer said tie goes to running

[1]
Posted: Feb 20, 2018 8:57 PM
 

Yes, tie goes to runner.


The "tie" has to go to somebody ... it goes to the runner.

[1]
Posted: Feb 21, 2018 7:52 AM
 

If the runner and the ball arrive at the same time and it's judged a "tie" then there is no clear cut way to decide if the runner is safe or out. The runner is always given the benefit of the "tie" ... whether or not it is officially spelled out in the rule book, it's still a long-standing fact.

2019 white level memberbadge-donor-15yr.jpg

Re: Announcer said tie goes to running


Posted: Feb 20, 2018 7:05 PM
 

Tie has always gone to the runner in baseball.

2019 white level memberbadge-donor-10yr.jpg

Re: Announcer said tie goes to running


Posted: Feb 20, 2018 7:13 PM
 

Everybody knows the tie goes to the runner.
It’s the way it is and has always been


Re: Announcer said tie goes to running


Posted: Feb 20, 2018 7:15 PM
 



badge-donor-05yr.jpg

Work Hard, Do Your Best, Keep Your Word, Never Get Too Big For Your Britches, Trust In God, Have no fear and Never Forget a Friend ~ Harry S. Truman


Re: Announcer said tie goes to running


Posted: Feb 20, 2018 7:20 PM
 

The wording of rule 5.09(a)(10), formerly 6.05(j), of the Official Baseball Rules is that a batter is out when "After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base". Since in a tie situation, the runner reaches the base before the base is touched or he is tagged out, then he is safe. Although not specifically stated "tie goes to the runner", it is interpreted as such.


For real?


Posted: Feb 21, 2018 9:11 AM
 

Is this guy seriously referencing google as his source? You even watch baseball in your entire life my man?

2019 student level member

Message removed by Author


Posted: Feb 20, 2018 8:06 PM
 

Message removed by Author

2019 white level memberbadge-donor-05yr.jpg

Re: so I guess 2 nickels do not make a dime


Posted: Feb 20, 2018 8:14 PM
 

A dollar bill is paper. A dollar can be anything that adds up to 100 cents


Some of the

[4]
Posted: Feb 21, 2018 7:09 AM
 

poasters on this bored don't have much cents

2019 orange level membermilitary_donation.jpg

A coot will usually blink when hit in the head with a hammer


Re: Announcer said tie goes to running


Posted: Feb 20, 2018 8:23 PM
 

Think about it. means the same thing


Re: Announcer said tie goes to running


Posted: Feb 20, 2018 9:01 PM
 

Then major league announcers have lead me wrong.


Re: Announcer said tie goes to running


Posted: Feb 21, 2018 8:36 AM
 

But in the same sense, the ball has to beat the runner to first base to be out.

2019 white level member

Re: Announcer said tie goes to running


Posted: Feb 21, 2018 8:53 AM
 

The OP is right, there is no tie. If the ball is caught at the same time the runner steps on the base then the runner beat the ball its not considered a tie. "Tie goes to the runner" is just a saying because in fact a tie means the runner has beat the ball getting there regardless if it is at the same time.


Re: Announcer said tie goes to running

[1]
Posted: Feb 21, 2018 9:20 AM
 

You just contradicted what the OP and yourself said, if the ball is caught at the same time the runner's foot hits the base then the runner did not beat the ball, and the ball was not caught before the runner touched the base, therefore, a tie.

What the rule actually means is that in a bang bang play that is hard to discern with the naked eye which one was first the benefit of the doubt will go to the runner.

It's very rare that an actual tie would occur, just simply due to physics, but if it's a split second difference that's hard to tell without slow motion replay.

Some people are just too literal, "tie goes to the runner" is a pretty well known saying around a baseball diamond.

2019 purple level memberbadge-donor-05yr.jpg

When playing baseball, I choose defense after the coin flip***

[1]
Posted: Feb 21, 2018 9:13 AM
 



2019 purple level memberbadge-donor-05yr.jpg

Replies: 18  
[ Archives - Tiger Boards Archive ]
Start New Topic
2401 people have read this post