Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
All this talk about Clemson basketball coaches
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 9
| visibility 1

All this talk about Clemson basketball coaches

Feb 4, 2020, 4:24 PM

Makes me recall the Bobby Roberts days when I was a Clemson student. For the most part Clemson basketball wasn’t really good in those days buy there was some great moments and great games. I remember sweeping the Tarheels one year. Many will say that wasn’t possible since we never won in Chapel Hill but in those days the Tigers played in the North/South classic in the Charlotte Coliseum each year. There was also some good players on those teams. The Mahaffey brother were solid players and great guys. Jim Brenner was the top scorer and Jim Sutherland could score as well.

Bill Foster took over as coach in the mid 70s and had some really good teams led by a number of quality players. None more well known that Tree Rollins! Bill was a great coach and a great developer of young men? I think the overtime win over Kentucky in 1979 in Rupp arena was my favorite Clemson win ever! I think the next year the Tigers beat Duke and UNC in the same week. How often has that happened?

Billy Williams was another guy you would love to see play.

I believe in 1980 the Tigers made it to the elite 8 and beat Utah State and BYU before losing to UCLA.

Shortly after that Larry Nance and company kept Tigers basketball in the news.

I hated to see Foster leave. He ended up at Miami for a few years and I believe he was at VPI too.