Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
Question about Tiger Rag
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 13
| visibility 1

Question about Tiger Rag

Sep 21, 2019, 5:27 AM

I graduated from Clemson in '86, have never been a season ticket holder, but have of course attended many games over the last 30+ years, except for during the 90's and into the early 2000's, when I lived pretty far away.

The first time I went back for a game, I noticed that there had appeared this "Woo-hoo, Woo-hoo-hoo-hoo" before spelling out C-L-E-M-S-O-N at the end of the song. That definitely wasn't a thing back in the 80's. But it's definitely a thing now.

When did people start doing that? Was it a fan thing that just caught on? Cheerleader-instigated? What?

BTW, not a problem with it. Just curious.

TIA.

Message was edited by: cuthbert®

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: Question about Tiger Rag

Sep 21, 2019, 5:40 AM

I think it occurred sometime around 2000 (call it the Y2K bug). I know it wasn't there when I got to campus in 98, but I remember it starting up sometime while I was there. As far as who started the nonsense...I have no idea if it was students, cheer, or the band.

I arrived on campus in 2000

Sep 21, 2019, 7:52 AM

From my cloudy memories of college, the woo hoo was there for my entire 4 yrs.

Your timing sounds pretty accurate

I DID NOT START IT, I CAN PROMISE THAT.

Ahh..the great "Woo Hoo" debate rears its ugly head

Sep 21, 2019, 6:10 AM