Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
Memorial Stadium White Oak Pens
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 35
| visibility 51

Memorial Stadium White Oak Pens

May 17, 2016, 11:02 AM

Wanted to pass along some info on a project I've been working on with my dad since 2015. Dad is an avid woodworker, and has been turning pens for the past ~8 years. He got hold of a few chunks of one of the 6 Live Oak trees on the Horseshoe on the USCe campus that was struck by lightning and taken down a few years ago. He started turning those into pens for Gamecock fans after getting a crafter's license from the university. After seeing how popular those were with that silly fanbase, I kept my eyes open for a similar opportunity on the Clemson campus.

In a stroke of bad/good luck, the huge white oak that stood next to the Hill in Death Valley had to be removed at the beginning of the 2015 season. When I heard it was being taken down, I scoured the campus to find somebody who knew what the fate of the tree might be. The Supervisor of Athletic Grounds pointed me in the right direction, and Dad and I were able to save some of this wood before it went into the chipper (terrible fate for something so historic). If you've been to a Clemson game in the last...well, EVER, you know exactly what tree this is.

Every tree on campus is numbered (or at least the large ones). The lone white oak in Death Valley, which stood near the Hill for around 80-85 years (give or take), is Tree #260021.

This tree: