Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
Where I've landed on the COVID-19 crisis.
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - General Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 16
| visibility 898

Where I've landed on the COVID-19 crisis.

Apr 20, 2020, 10:23 AM

No, I am not a medical doctor, a pathologist, or immunologist, but guess what? They don't have the answers either. Everyone is trying to find the balance between killing the economy and staying safe. From all I have studied, and I have followed this from well before the lockdown, here's where I have landed:

1) It is a VIRUS. It behaves like a virus. We may or may not be able to get accurate testing for antibodies, a vaccine, etc. Therefore, we must allow natural immunity to build up by allowing some people to be exposed (the young and healthy). The Spanish Flu died out when a) people built up immunity and b) it mutated into H1N1, a less virulent strain. This thing has to run its course.

2) Protect the most vulnerable - nursing homes, long-term care institutions, prisoners, and the immuno-compromised. Look at where the most deaths are - it's in these settings.

3) Continue taking personal precautions such as handwashing, social distancing, etc.

4) Testing or not, vaccine or not, OPEN UP THE ECONOMY. This cannot go on. Back to normal asap.