Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
For the topic of "wasted scholarships"
Hall of Fame - Tiger Boards Hall of Fame
add New Topic
Replies: 0
| visibility 1,948
   | View Original Thread |

For the topic of "wasted scholarships"

Jan 21, 2016, 3:26 PM

Once upon a time (not long ago) I was an assistant basketball coach at Daniel as a part of my graduation requirement for Clemson. Our team was "loaded" with a starting 5 of...

G - Tyus Gaines, sensational PG and DB on the football team
G - Jaelon Oglesby, 4 star football recruit, Clemson commit
G - Adrien Dunn and
F - DJ Greenlee, both "wasted" scholarships at Clemson
F - Justin Dotson, 1st team all state, now playing basketball for Stephen F Austin

It was a great season, and Daniel made it all the way to the final 4 in the BiLo center before falling short in the semifinal.

Being around these kids up close, you really get to see how attitude and team chemistry come into play and affect the course of the season. These are attributes that won't show up on a stat sheet and aren't measured by recruiting services.

All the people that say these legacy scholarships are "wasted" on some of these kids have obviously never been involved in coaching before. It's no coincidence that the highest rated athlete on the team also had the worst attitude, and ultimately never made it to Clemson. At times, it affected the flow of the team and the outcome of some games.